Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline johnmarklin  
#1 Posted : 10 February 2016 20:29:55(UTC)
johnmarklin

Ireland   
Joined: 31/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 144
Location: Ireland
Good evening fellow Marklin fans.

I am at present building a layout. The layout will be computer controlled. I am using Marklin C Track but will need to purchase a considerable amount to complete the layout.

A number of years ago I was given a large quantity of Marklin K track (2100) first series including points/switches, uncoupling tracks diamond crossings etc. I also have accumulated an amount of near mint M Track again including points/switches, un-couplers etc. I am wondering should/could I integrate these into the layout without compromising functionality. I would save a considerable amount of money. Or, should I stay totally with C track.

Is anyone aware of issues with M Track and digital/computer control or with K Track (first series) and digital/computer control. Some of the K Track has rusted underneath but that can be sorted. The rails appear to have oxidised also.

Your thoughts and observations would be appreciated.

John
Offline DaleSchultz  
#2 Posted : 10 February 2016 22:21:20(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,884
Hi John,

the 2100 series was made of an inferior metal that does not provide as good electrical contact as the 2200 series.

You don't want to spend a lot of time and effort getting it laid and have endless problems running trains. I would not use the 2100 track at all. :-(

Digital vs analog works the same for all track types. i.e. the track type makes no difference to the use of digital or analog.
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
Offline johnmarklin  
#3 Posted : 11 February 2016 13:07:45(UTC)
johnmarklin

Ireland   
Joined: 31/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 144
Location: Ireland
Dale,

Thank you for your reply which confirms my suspicions. The K Track that I have is showing signs of poor metal quality. I am aware that the track type does not matter when it comes to running digital but the issue is the optimum transfer of digital data and the best track type to [provide this. While I have been told that M Track will work fine with digital/computer control another person raised concerns about the construction of the rails in M track (folded metal as opposed to solid). His comments were focused on the possible interference to the digital signal because of erosion and metal interaction within the rails. Are you aware of or have you experienced this?

John
Offline xxup  
#4 Posted : 11 February 2016 13:57:01(UTC)
xxup

Australia   
Joined: 15/03/2003(UTC)
Posts: 9,245
Location: Australia
I have run computer control on my m-track layouts for the past 10 years or so, and the only problem is keeping the tracks (and wheels) clean when the layout is not used for extended periods of time. I don't believe that m-track is any worse than any of the other track times for digital operation. The huge plus with m-track is there is plenty of it in the second hand market and it is much cheaper than the C or K track. Of course, m-track does not look as prototypical as k-track and there is a limit in terms of large radius curves (R2 max)..
Adrian
UserPostedImage
Australia flag by abFlags.com
Offline DaleSchultz  
#5 Posted : 12 February 2016 18:50:28(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,884
I dont think the type of track makes a difference in the transmission of the digital signal.
The poor contact due to bad track is the significant issue, i.e. you get no analog or no digital signal with poor track. Once you are getting power through to the loco you are golden. I think the dirtiness would have to produce a high frequency signal/high frequency loss, to mess up the digital signal.
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
Offline Danlake  
#6 Posted : 12 February 2016 21:01:38(UTC)
Danlake

New Zealand   
Joined: 03/08/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,552
Originally Posted by: xxup Go to Quoted Post
I have run computer control on my m-track layouts for the past 10 years or so, and the only problem is keeping the tracks (and wheels) clean when the layout is not used for extended periods of time. I don't believe that m-track is any worse than any of the other track times for digital operation. The huge plus with m-track is there is plenty of it in the second hand market and it is much cheaper than the C or K track. Of course, m-track does not look as prototypical as k-track and there is a limit in terms of large radius curves (R2 max)..


My own experience is that new C track bought from Germany without VAT exported abroad is cheaper than "as new condition" M track bought on second hand market. Unless you have stock laying around I would recommend C track for digital, simply due to its inferior click and connect system, compared to k and m track use of old fashion rail joiners.

Brgds Lasse
Digital 11m2 layout / C (M&K) tracks / Era IV / CS3 60226 / Train Controller Gold 9 with 4D sound. Mainly Danish and German Locomotives.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Danlake
Offline MalinAC  
#7 Posted : 13 February 2016 10:01:25(UTC)
MalinAC

Ireland   
Joined: 29/05/2014(UTC)
Posts: 839
Location: DONEGAL, CARNDONAGH
I think you mean superior click and connect system . Eddie
Offline johnmarklin  
#8 Posted : 19 February 2016 18:47:50(UTC)
johnmarklin

Ireland   
Joined: 31/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 144
Location: Ireland
Lasse,

Thank you for your suggestion. Unfortunately I live within the European Union and and therefore vat is charged when I purchase from Germany or any other E.U. country.
Offline johnmarklin  
#9 Posted : 19 February 2016 18:50:38(UTC)
johnmarklin

Ireland   
Joined: 31/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 144
Location: Ireland
Thank you to all who offered valuable suggestions.

I have decided to lay the majority of my track in c track and do one end to end (5mtrs) with the as new m track that I have in storage. Work is progressing slowly between regular interruptions.

John
Offline hxmiesa  
#10 Posted : 20 February 2016 15:00:34(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,296
Location: Spain
Originally Posted by: xxup Go to Quoted Post
... and there is a limit in terms of large radius curves (R2 max)..

No, it´s not limited!
There is the... 36xx series (i think that is the reference). It was produced in the 50´es during a few years. Large radius curves and slim switches! :-)

Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Similar Topics
New Layout (H0-scale)
by Bakst1 24/05/2021 15:43:09(UTC)
Help to set up a new layout and service an old one. (General MRR)
by Lucky Trains 11/04/2021 09:28:21(UTC)
My new layout, suggestions welcome (Digital)
by klarijel 01/12/2018 19:58:28(UTC)
Start of my new layout (Model railroad photography)
by eurotrain 17/05/2018 18:52:48(UTC)
Creating new layout - Need help. (H0-scale)
by Hics 15/02/2018 13:20:26(UTC)
New Layout Plan- Calling All Experts for Feedback! (Track plans)
by 5HorizonsRR 11/07/2016 17:06:55(UTC)
Signal design for new layout (H0-scale)
by applor 03/06/2016 06:07:04(UTC)
old guy looks for old parts for soon to be new layout (H0-scale)
by thomas buckley 05/01/2016 22:26:42(UTC)
New layout - what is the recommended height of the table top (H0-scale)
by Ken Mitchell 24/02/2015 10:43:58(UTC)
A new Layout by Marklin (but also has items by other MRR) (Great layouts I have seen...)
by GlennM 06/11/2014 14:40:41(UTC)
New Layout Plan Comments (Track plans)
by tulit 19/01/2014 22:48:19(UTC)
New Layout under construction (Great layouts I have seen...)
by Harvey 06/01/2014 23:49:08(UTC)
My new layouts - Märklin official 700/210 (Collector's Corner general)
by LMS800 04/05/2012 18:03:32(UTC)
My new layouts - Märklin 1935 (Collector's Corner general)
by LMS800 04/05/2012 17:03:22(UTC)
Building a new layout. (General MRR)
by Ian555 17/04/2012 13:43:25(UTC)
Proposed new layout - plan (Track plans)
by vertex 17/03/2012 21:18:56(UTC)
new layout (Track plans)
by Joseph Meiring 01/06/2010 21:55:34(UTC)
New Layout for New House (Track plans)
by rudyim300 27/04/2010 05:01:49(UTC)
Jacques Vuye - New Layout Question (H0-scale)
by black_pete 03/11/2009 07:06:58(UTC)
Utube, My new layout (Digital)
by springboard 20/09/2009 16:35:36(UTC)
My new layout 1 (Track plans)
by interno6 23/11/2008 16:04:01(UTC)
What would you change, if you'd make a new layout? (General MRR)
by Rinus 08/11/2008 22:53:12(UTC)
New layout operations plan (Big scale)
by williechan 24/02/2007 01:23:25(UTC)
My New Layout - comments on the trackplan, please! (H0-scale)
by pmgsr 29/12/2006 17:11:33(UTC)
C or K Track for new layout ? (H0-scale)
by Labrat 26/12/2005 07:46:28(UTC)
Suggestions for a new layout (H0-scale)
by Mikael 04/06/2005 15:52:48(UTC)
Building new layout - need advise (H0-scale)
by Eisenhower 23/07/2004 00:57:50(UTC)
A lot of new layout pictures (H0-scale)
by kimmo 21/03/2004 23:17:55(UTC)
new layout pics (H0-scale)
by Tahoetom 20/05/2003 02:56:11(UTC)
new layout pics (H0-scale)
by Tahoetom 09/12/2002 02:26:13(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.679 seconds.