Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline gauravk  
#1 Posted : 15 October 2011 10:32:15(UTC)
gauravk

Hi i am new to Railroading and have recently developed a layout on winrail. I have a question, i want a city line on my layout but i want the track to look like a tram line which is covered with concrete. I am thinking of using marklin k track and covering it up with plaster while leaving the rails and center studs exposed. Can i do this? Will the k track still work? Are there any kits or special tracks i can order?
Offline kbvrod  
#2 Posted : 15 October 2011 22:15:28(UTC)
kbvrod

United States   
Hi all,
Gaurav,welcome to the forum!Cool

Originally Posted by: gauravk Go to Quoted Post
Hi i am new to Railroading and have recently developed a layout on winrail. I have a question, i want a city line on my layout but i want the track to look like a tram line which is covered with concrete. I am thinking of using marklin k track and covering it up with plaster while leaving the rails and center studs exposed. Can i do this? Will the k track still work? Are there any kits or special tracks i can order?

Just to get this right,you want track to run in the streets of a city but not a tram per say?
You could use plaster for the outside of the rails but in between it would kind of hard to smooth out.
What you could do is use card stock or styrene for that.

Dr D
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kbvrod
Offline cookee_nz  
#3 Posted : 16 October 2011 10:14:06(UTC)
cookee_nz

New Zealand   

I know the effect you are trying to achieve and done correctly it looks pretty awesome, but it can be quite fiddly.

First thing is that K-track is not particularly forgiving of wet plaster - while the track is stainless steel, the center rail is not and rust may (probably will ) develop.