Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline einotuominen  
#1 Posted : 13 January 2023 13:20:51(UTC)
einotuominen

Finland   
Hello,

I acquired 18.4 Steamer. A bit older model 3093, but it was sold as "digital". Surely is. There is a 8 dip switch decoder inside and the motor is LFCM AC motor.

Smoke basically came out from decoder when I powered it up. I'm sure it's fried (luckily I was generously refunded 50%). Motor looks ok though.

60944 retrofit motor fits to the body, but the chassis won't go back on. I could dremel it, but this one looks a tough thing to do, so I prefer not to.

So I'm thinking of keeping the AC motor and installing AC decoder. Märklin has one with MFX. I have no previous experience with that decoder, so no idea how the end result would come to be.

However, I wan't sound. No sound steam loco, does not cure my fever.

Does anyone know of a decoder that has got all the needed sounds (operating sounds of motor. whistles and all that jazz) and works with AC motor? I'm sure I can go with DCC, these protocols all work together don't they?

Best,
-Eino
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by einotuominen
Offline marklinist5999  
#2 Posted : 13 January 2023 13:37:27(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Most anyone whom has installed decoders them selves have fried at least one, so you aren't alone. If you are using a transformer, not a switched mode power supply, you run that risk agian with most new mfx deocoders. There are/were two different sized 5 pole conversion sets, and some shops still have new old stock. If you got the larger, the smaller one may fit better. There is at least one post archived on how to dremel the block so the body goes back on.