Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline ausland  
#1 Posted : 01 November 2015 00:59:21(UTC)
ausland

United States   
Joined: 26/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 32
Location: USA
It's been over decade since I ran anything and since I am liquidating my collection I have a question. To test the digital locos up to 37 series, will they run on the standard Marklin AC transformer for a quick 'run check' without harm the the digital electronics in the locos? All are HO and run the gamut from a very few older 30 series up to the 37000 and a couple 39000 items.

Any information is appreciated.

Kind regards
Ausland
Offline pietercc  
#2 Posted : 01 November 2015 01:15:31(UTC)
pietercc

United States   
Joined: 27/08/2015(UTC)
Posts: 15
Location: California, Sacramento
yes you can test the old digital loks on a analog controller, just make sure they are not delta. delta chips will not work on on analog, they will bun up
Offline ausland  
#3 Posted : 01 November 2015 01:19:32(UTC)
ausland

United States   
Joined: 26/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 32
Location: USA
Thanks for the info, that's what I need to know. I have nothing Delta although some of the older locos were converted to digital by the previous owner.

That being said, are the Delta chips marked as such or is there a way to tell them apart from digital?

Kind regards
Ausland
Offline RayF  
#4 Posted : 01 November 2015 09:01:23(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,805
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Let me step in here with a major correction!

Delta decoders are perfectly capable of running in analogue, and will not burn up! (Unless there was already something wrong with them!)

All Marklin digital or delta locomotives will run in analogue mode. Some decoders with DIP switches need to have the address set to all zeros before they will run in analogue. If you have access to the loco manual it will tell you what you need to do.

The only concern is the type of controller/transformer you use. If it is one of the newer grey or white types you have nothing to fear, but an older blue transformer can sometimes output a voltage which is too high when the reversing pulse is activated. This can sometimes fry a decoder of the newer types, so if you have an older blue type do not try to reverse the loco. You can still test whether it runs or not by turning the speed knob and you can assume that it will run in the other direction just as well. (Usually)
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by RayF
Offline H0  
#5 Posted : 01 November 2015 09:20:12(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,703
Location: DE-NW
Hi all!

Good advice from Ray.
Originally Posted by: ausland Go to Quoted Post
To test the digital locos up to 37 series, will they run on the standard Marklin AC transformer for a quick 'run check' without harm the the digital electronics in the locos?
About 12 years ago Märklin introduced decoders without DIP switches. Those are more sensitive with respect to reversing voltages.

The risk should be low if all your locos have DIP switches. Some 37 series locos also require all switches to be set to off for analogue operation.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline kiwiAlan  
#6 Posted : 01 November 2015 12:35:23(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 7,110
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: pietercc Go to Quoted Post
yes you can test the old digital loks on a analog controller, just make sure they are not delta. delta chips will not work on on analog, they will bun up


Not true. There are some delta chips where you need to set the address switches to all off to run on analogue, but the delta decoder is still good to run with analogue.

The reason for this is that for a period Marklin were not able to produce decoders with the automatic analogue detection due to a falling out with the holder of the patent relating to detection of analogue mode.

Offline ausland  
#7 Posted : 01 November 2015 12:41:41(UTC)
ausland

United States   
Joined: 26/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 32
Location: USA

We will find one of the later Marklin transformers for the tests. The collection does not have any power packs with it but that being said two boxes are missing and in addition to the transformers some el primo items are missing. A search is being made where they were stored and one can hope the missing boxes will be found.

I am going to ask permission of the mods to offer the primium items to fellow forum members before they go on ebay, this after I get an idea of the current value of most items. I am in US at the moment and my net access is not what I have at home, which I return to the end of this week.

Some items are in transit to Sevastopol, I lean towards the old timers for my personal running, and a couple items will be hand carried back with me. Should be interesting on arrival in Mockba.

Ausland
Offline Piete  
#8 Posted : 29 September 2022 03:13:59(UTC)
Piete

Australia   
Joined: 28/03/2022(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Melbourne VIC
Hi all,
We have an all analogue layout, but recently we purchased an old 3016 railbus loco that appears to have been converted to digital (see photo). I am new to digital Marklin locos, so I was hoping that someone could tell me if indeed the loco has been converted to digital and what sort of decode has been used?
Marklin 3016 loco.jpeg
Furthermore, which analogue transformers could I safely use to run and reverse this particular loco? (We have several analogue transformers (blue ones 6631, 37540, orange Primex, older 16VA blue ones 6077 & 278A and 1 white 32VA transformer).
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Piete
Offline river6109  
#9 Posted : 29 September 2022 04:28:31(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 14,058
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
I wouldn't try it with a blue transformer, had one, knew about the potential danger frying a decoder, naturally what I did switched the loco in reverse and kaputt, end of story

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline river6109  
#10 Posted : 29 September 2022 04:30:58(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 14,058
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Originally Posted by: Piete Go to Quoted Post
Hi all,
We have an all analogue layout, but recently we purchased an old 3016 railbus loco that appears to have been converted to digital (see photo). I am new to digital Marklin locos, so I was hoping that someone could tell me if indeed the loco has been converted to digital and what sort of decode has been used?
Marklin 3016 loco.jpeg
Furthermore, which analogue transformers could I safely use to run and reverse this particular loco? (We have several analogue transformers (blue ones 6631, 37540, orange Primex, older 16VA blue ones 6077 & 278A and 1 white 32VA transformer).


As mentioned above do not use any blue transformers, so far the digital conversion is concerned, yes it is fully digital, with an ESU perm. magnet and the 3 pole armature and brush plate have been kept, most probably an ESU decoder. , this decoder will give you better running characteristics at lower speed, if not you would have to change to a 5 pole high efficiency motor.

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Similar Topics
Markin digital running on analog layout (Digital)
by Scott f. 23/04/2019 01:08:16(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2022, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.706 seconds.