Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Scott f.  
#1 Posted : 23 April 2019 01:08:16(UTC)
Scott f.

Hello all,
I'm relatively new to marklin ho. I have recently restored my father's old marklin ho layout to full operation. I had so much fun I built another one of my own. So I now have two in my home. I learned a great deal.
I did a quick read also nothing too detailed regarding running digital on am analog layout, when I saw its possible I made a purchase. Rookie mistake I know. I cautioned myself and have not tried to run it yet. Based on a few things I've read here.
My layouts have the old 70s transformers.
Any tips? And any advice before I run this new locomotive?
Thank you
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#2 Posted : 23 April 2019 02:53:06(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
You can run digital locos on an analog layout, but you do need to be careful when using old transformers as the reversing pulse from the old transformers can be enough to toast the decoder in a digital loco.

This has been discussed in the forum many times and there are lots of reasons why this might be an issue. You should be able to find those threads using the forum's search function.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline river6109  
#3 Posted : 23 April 2019 04:13:32(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
its nice to have antiquity but when it comes to transformers you have to be careful and I personally think its not worth the risk and buy a new one and you can be assured nothing can go wrong with it. , all you have to weigh up the cost of injury, death or fried decoder and you soon will realize a new transformer far outweighs the sentimental value BigGrin

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode