Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline SlowOrder  
#1 Posted : 24 November 2022 02:28:39(UTC)
SlowOrder

United States   
Good Evening,

I recently bought a HAG DC Ae 4/7 (135), how do I convert it ro run on analog AC? I've never tried a conversion before, but this was the only option I had at the time.

Do I need to buy a slider, and does it have to be HAG brand, or can I use one from Märklin?

Thank you,
Andy B.
Offline mike c  
#2 Posted : 24 November 2022 05:41:21(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
You will need to find the proper slider and may have to modify the wheel contacts so that the return works properly.
Your best bet would be to convert it to digital AC, which would still work with an analog layout. The reason for this is that there is not a significant difference in cost between a basic Lok Pilot decoder and an electronic reverse unit.

I don't know whether Hag continued the production and retained the parts/molds for the Ae 4/7, even though it was part of the "New Generation".
Most of the models that have come out of Stansstad have been Re 4/4II, Re 6/6 and Re 460.
You can possibly send the locomotive to Hag and have it converted by them. I did that with a DC Re 460, but that was back in the Moerschwil days.

I don't know if the circuit board on the DC Ae 4/7 was the same as the AC version. The non-insulated wheel sets have a different spacing than the DC ones.

Maybe Stefan (Unholz) can help you find a source for the parts. You can try Christian at eyro.ch. He may be able to help you as well.

See: https://www.hag.swiss/wp...ste-Ersatzteile-2022.pdf (Gruppe 13 Ae 4/7)

Regards

Mike C
Offline Unholz  
#3 Posted : 24 November 2022 09:55:22(UTC)
Unholz

Switzerland