Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Michanglais  
#1 Posted : 15 May 2022 10:02:45(UTC)
Michanglais

France, Metropolitan   
Joined: 13/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 19
Location: Lyon
I want to get a few yard lamps (72813) for a diorama I'm building.

I've got an old DC controller that could be used to vary the intensity of the light IF the LEDs are DC compatible. I don't know if AC-only LEDs exist and whether they would only work with a Marklin controller. I'm not keen on using a constant accessory power from my analogue AC controller as I suspect the LEDs will be too bright for my liking.

Has anyone got any thoughts on using DC to power this type of LED?

Many thanks in advance.
Offline JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 15 May 2022 12:05:25(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 2,081
Location: Paris, France
Hi Michel
What counts with LEDs is a DC power to avoid flickering.
Because, in the past I had a N scale analog layout, I have a few transformers and I use the variable DC part for lighting
So one possibility is to use a transfo. for DC trains with a M 84 to switch on and off.
On my steam depot I had Brawa lamps, beautiful but with regular bulbs that kept burning so I installed surface mounted LEDs from an adhesive LED tape and enameled thin copper wire for cabling. So it went like this
LED BBWlampen.png
Cheers
Jean
My layout videos
latest vid
hump yard
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Offline Michanglais  
#3 Posted : 15 May 2022 12:23:40(UTC)
Michanglais

France, Metropolitan   
Joined: 13/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 19
Location: Lyon
That's great news, thanks Jean.

I have a perfect DC transfo I don't use any more with two outlets - just what I need.

Nice depot on the layout!

Michael

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Michanglais
Offline nzrailfan  
#4 Posted : 10 June 2022 09:31:03(UTC)
nzrailfan

New Zealand   
Joined: 07/06/2022(UTC)
Posts: 6
Location: Otago, Dunedin
Hi , the easiest, cheapest and most overlooked way (in my opinion) is a second hand laptop power supply , I have a 15v unit rated at 4A and a 19v unit rated at 4.6A running my ESU switchpilots switching my K-Track point motors Viessmann Signals and yard lamps. Paid about $10 NZD for each.
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by nzrailfan
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2022, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.626 seconds.