Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Ephraim  
#1 Posted : 11 January 2022 09:54:35(UTC)
Ephraim

Israel   
Joined: 11/01/2022(UTC)
Posts: 4
Location: HaMerkaz, Petah Tikva
Need advice to overcome a ~4 mm gap in the marklin C track layout.Tried conventional method of averaging out but I still miss this gap distance. The electricity is ok on both sides but the wheels of the cars cannot pass the gap.
Appreciate a solution
Thanks Ef
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 11 January 2022 10:09:58(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,400
Location: DE-NW
Hi, Ef!
Welcome to the forum!

If you would show what you have (track plan) then we can make better suggestions. That is, if you are interested in a solution that works without cutting an gluing.
With cutting and gluing it will be easy to solve the issue.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline Ephraim  
#3 Posted : 11 January 2022 10:29:22(UTC)
Ephraim

Israel   
Joined: 11/01/2022(UTC)
Posts: 4
Location: HaMerkaz, Petah Tikva
Thanks Tom
The problem is that the track is already embedded in the landscape and i cannot change the structure. I would like to avoid cutting/gluing options
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Ephraim
Offline marklinist5999  
#4 Posted : 11 January 2022 12:43:11(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,352
Location: Michigan, Troy
Hello Ephram! If you can't shim the track if it is unlevel to close the gap, you can try a dot of solder in it. I have done it with K track. Sometimes temperature changes cause tracks to move a bit. I have C track joining K track on a bridge approach. I noticed a current break when the temperature changes.
Offline Ephraim  
#5 Posted : 11 January 2022 13:26:15(UTC)
Ephraim

Israel   
Joined: 11/01/2022(UTC)
Posts: 4
Location: HaMerkaz, Petah Tikva
Tnx 5999
Will try the soldering approach
Any particular tip with respect to track cleanup prior to soldering (acetone, ethylalcohol, isopropanol ) ?
Offline Ephraim  
#6 Posted : 11 January 2022 13:27:44(UTC)
Ephraim

Israel   
Joined: 11/01/2022(UTC)
Posts: 4
Location: HaMerkaz, Petah Tikva
Tnx 5999
Will try the soldering approach
Any particular tip with respect to track cleanup prior to soldering (acetone, ethylalcohol, isopropanol ) ?
Offline marklinist5999  
#7 Posted : 11 January 2022 13:51:28(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 1,352
Location: Michigan, Troy
Alcohol should be fine, just be sure it's dry afterward before soldering. Use thin wire solder so as not to make a bump in the track, or a buldge in the side. You may have difficulty filing the sides of the rail. That could also cause derailures.
Offline Copenhagen  
#8 Posted : 11 January 2022 16:20:41(UTC)
Copenhagen


Joined: 23/04/2019(UTC)
Posts: 181
I haven't any experience in soldering tracks so I don't know how well the tin will adhere to the metal. Maybe it would be a good idea to practice on some spare pieces of track before doing it on the layout?
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Copenhagen
H0
Offline H0  
#9 Posted : 11 January 2022 17:45:25(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,400
Location: DE-NW
4 mm is a big gap to be filled with solder alone. More realistic to fill it with a piece of wire that is soldered in.

To resolve a purely mechanical problem it might be better to glue a little piece of plastic or even wood into the gap.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline DaleSchultz  
#10 Posted : 11 January 2022 18:50:55(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,983
I would sacrifice 6mm of rail from some other track, file it down to the right length and push it into place, hold it in place with superglue.
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by DaleSchultz
Offline kiwiAlan  
#11 Posted : 11 January 2022 19:59:30(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 6,589
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: DaleSchultz Go to Quoted Post
I would sacrifice 6mm of rail from some other track, file it down to the right length and push it into place, hold it in place with superglue.


Marklin do supply packs of track joiners for C track, for people who cut to custom lengths.

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by kiwiAlan
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2022, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.678 seconds.