Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Ricinport  
#1 Posted : 26 February 2021 11:16:10(UTC)
Ricinport

Portugal   
Joined: 14/01/2021(UTC)
Posts: 45
Location: Faro
Hi

I'm progressing fairly well with my new small layout and this weekend I'm going to have a blitz wiring session.

My layout is basically two ovals, plus a central figure of 8 and 4 sidings.
I will be using two Marklin transformers one that covers the whole track layout and one that will run a second loco on the yet to be installed catenary.

Ignoring the catenary circuit for now and keeping it seperate I want to be able to have a transformer running a loco with 3 others parked separately on the sidings.
The idea being to then park up the loco currently in play and open up a siding to bring out a new loco.

I've attached an image of page 33 of the 0296 track catalogue which seems to have the solution using 8 x 8590 isolator track pieces, 4 x 8954 isolator connectors and a 72740 switch box.
I've purchased the hardware and yesterday the 8590 track pieces and the 72740 switch box arrived, and I'm just waiting now on the 8954 isolating joiners.

However having had a simple play around last night I get a similar effect but just sticking a 8590 track piece at the start of the siding and turning it on or off (using a simple wire across it at this stage) to either electrify the track or isolate it.

Why do I need the complicated system described in the image to do this? I can't get my head around it.
For a simple siding why doesn't one switchable 8590 that turns the siding 'on or off' do the same. What am I missing here.


using_the_8590.jpg
Online Carim  
#2 Posted : 26 February 2021 18:01:26(UTC)
Carim

United Kingdom   
Joined: 15/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 508
Location: London
So the 8590 is the feeder track, it supplies power to both rails (red & brown). Then you have a gap in the (red) rail in which you put an insulating track joiner (from 8954). Anything to the right of this is "dead". So you add another 8590 feeder with only a wire to the red rail. So the "dead" area becomes "live". But as you want to use this area to isolate an engine, you introduce an on/off switch (you want to use 72740) between the second 8590 and the controller.

The only complication here is that they are using four tracks rather than one.

Carim

p.s. the way I have described it, you would only use one of the insulated rail joiners from 8954 (they come linked in pairs).
Offline Ricinport  
#3 Posted : 26 February 2021 21:52:08(UTC)
Ricinport

Portugal   
Joined: 14/01/2021(UTC)
Posts: 45
Location: Faro
Thanks Carim

I've taken it too literally then.

In this scenario in reality there is no need for the first 8590 because the track is already 'fed' further down the line.

And I can achieve exactly the same effect using just one 8590 and wiring it to a simple switch. No need for the insulated rail joiner or the second 8590.

I'ts a shame I purchased the 72740 switch box. The 72730 (which is a simple switch) would have done the job for this.

Online Carim  
#4 Posted : 27 February 2021 00:37:51(UTC)
Carim

United Kingdom   
Joined: 15/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 508
Location: London
If you want to hold a loco in an isolated sliding, you do need an insulated rail joiner. To get anything to run in that insulated section, you need to have a power feed (8590) and that is connected to the on/off switch which, in turn, is connected to the controller.

Effectively, just copy the right hand side of the second diagram (and only for one track).

Perhaps have a look at this website: https://www.brian-lamber...k/Electrical_Page_1.html

Carim
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Similar Topics
Help with Wiring (General MRR)
by Drongo 10/12/2020 04:42:40(UTC)
Help with wiring of 76xxx Marklin Signals (Model railroad wiring)
by nelson77 09/10/2010 02:57:01(UTC)
Need basic help with wiring of 1970 era set (Model railroad wiring)
by Alphi 27/01/2010 09:51:34(UTC)
newbie to marklin - needs help with wiring signal boxes (Model railroad wiring)
by hjh10 18/01/2010 03:11:04(UTC)
Help with wiring (H0-scale)
by dalmationx 08/02/2002 02:03:23(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.435 seconds.