Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Alphi  
#1 Posted : 27 January 2010 09:51:34(UTC)
Alphi

Hi everyone!

As a 10 year-old I used to be an "expert" wiring my small Marklin train set BigGrin It is a late 1960's - early 1970's HO set with the flat electrical connectors in middle of the tracks (I think that these are now on placed more towards the side of the track).

After keeping it in storage for 35 years I decided that it was time for my 9 yo son to have it. But I am finding it difficult to remember how to wire things. I feel so embarrassed... now I have an engineering degree to show off but can't figure out how do the simple things that I did as kid Blushing

I got the two wires from the tracks connected to the transformer. My two engines initially resisted coming up from the cold, but soon I had them running again. Wow, what a feeling! ThumpUp

Then I tried connecting the blue switch boxes that have four sets of red/green buttons and that control all track functionality. There is where I got stuck. Do I connect this to the transformer, and if so then which cable goes where?

Many thanks!
Alexander
Offline RayF  
#2 Posted : 27 January 2010 10:16:21(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Hi Alexander,

If I remember correctly, each turnout or signal should have 3 wires, one yellow with yellow plug, and two blue, with one red plug and one green plug.

Connect yellow wire to yellow socket on transformer, blue wires to red and green sockets on switch boxes, and connect the socket on the side of the switch box to brown on the transformer.

If you have uncoupling tracks you can connect tham as half of a turnout.
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#3 Posted : 27 January 2010 10:55:30(UTC)