Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline tchiplis  
#1 Posted : 14 February 2021 19:51:38(UTC)
tchiplis

United States   
Hi All,
I am new to model railroading and working with a set purchased by my Dad about 60 years ago. I set up the minimal amount of track and the locomotive. The controller is a 6150 variable output transformer. I replaced the power cord very recently. When reattaching the cover, I noticed there is a switch under the knob. With the locomotive in motion, pressing the switch PAUSED and REVERSED the locomotive. Now I am unable to get it to go FORWARD. The locomotive has a switch on it that switches it from forward to reverse. It now has no effect. Any recommendations ? Do I need to look closer at the switch ?
I have some knowledge of electricity but since Marklin uses AC, I need all the help I can get. Any ideas are welcome and thanks in advance.
Tim
Offline JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 14 February 2021 21:27:21(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Hi Tim
The switch under the knob switches (SPDT) from normal traction voltage 7-14 VAC to direction change 24 VAC.
The question: is now the transfo repaired and generating the 24 V impulse.
If yes, the direction change relay in the loco may look like this
umschaltrelais.png
Either you hear it switching, then check that no wires are in the way of the ratchet contact
Or the relay is not connected. Two wires: one is with the fixing screw (connects to the chassis) and the other one is connected to the slider (directly or indirectly depending on the loco
Cheers
Jean
Offline tchiplis  
#3 Posted : 21 February 2021 20:04:00(UTC)
tchiplis

United States   
Thank you Jean,