Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline TIM A-B  
#1 Posted : 13 May 2020 22:09:19(UTC)
TIM A-B

United Kingdom   
Joined: 13/05/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
Location: England
Hello, I wonder if anyone can provide some advice please ? I recently purchased on Ebay a "new" Maerklin 36501/94424 diesel shunter loco. The motor runs perfectly. However when the engine passes over turnouts/points and also an X intersection it stops and has to be pushed forward or backwards to regain drive. I have a combination of M,C and K track, there are no turnouts on the K track. I notice only the rear axle contains the drive so this may result with inferior traction ? I get the impression the loco drops or becomes stuck on the turnouts ? I also notice this model has an extra long shoe is this the cause of the irregular running ? Is there a small shoe that fits ? I have 12 other locos albeit much larger items which run perfectly over the track .
Any suggestions or is this a problem with base "starter" model ? I am starting to regret the purchase..... Tim
Offline jvuye  
#2 Posted : 13 May 2020 22:57:29(UTC)
jvuye

Belgium   
Joined: 01/03/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,832
Location: South Western France
Originally Posted by: TIM A-B Go to Quoted Post
Hello, I wonder if anyone can provide some advice please ? I recently purchased on Ebay a "new" Maerklin 36501/94424 diesel shunter loco. The motor runs perfectly. However when the engine passes over turnouts/points and also an X intersection it stops and has to be pushed forward or backwards to regain drive. I have a combination of M,C and K track, there are no turnouts on the K track. I notice only the rear axle contains the drive so this may result with inferior traction ? I get the impression the loco drops or becomes stuck on the turnouts ? I also notice this model has an extra long shoe is this the cause of the irregular running ? Is there a small shoe that fits ? I have 12 other locos albeit much larger items which run perfectly over the track .
Any suggestions or is this a problem with base "starter" model ? I am starting to regret the purchase..... Tim


Likely need to have the pick up shoe straightened.
Needs to be perfectly flat, perfectly parallel to the chassis and with the springs adjusted to provide enough contact pressure.
If you'd post a picture of the underside , we may be able to offer you some suggestions

Cheers

Jacques

Jacques Vuye aka Dr.Eisenbahn
Once a vandal, learned to be better and had great success!
Offline ktsolias  
#3 Posted : 13 May 2020 22:58:41(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Joined: 01/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 479
Location: Athens
Is a well known problem of these small locos like other 3 axle locos.

Has nothing to do with the pick-up shoe

The problem is that over turnouts there is no good contact of the axles with the metallic rails and the loco loose the earth connection

A solution is a buffer for the decoder

Costas
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by ktsolias
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#4 Posted : 14 May 2020 00:02:15(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 17,249
Location: New Zealand
In addition to what Costas states, I've also found that mixing C track and M track on a large layout seems to cause erratic running - I certainly found that out on my layout. Since changing the layout to being all C track I have found the running characteristics much much better.
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline TIM A-B  
#5 Posted : 14 May 2020 08:57:56(UTC)
TIM A-B

United Kingdom   
Joined: 13/05/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
Location: England
OK THANKS ALL. I HAVE ORDERED A NEW PICK UP TO SEE IF THAT REOLVES THE PROBLEM, THANKS AGAIN FOR ALL YOUR ADVICE. TIM
Offline TIM A-B  
#6 Posted : 18 May 2020 14:34:20(UTC)
TIM A-B

United Kingdom   
Joined: 13/05/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
Location: England
Hello Costas I found this on the Marklin site " Gauge H0 - Article No. 60974
Buffer Capacitor with Built-In Load Circuit for mLD3 and mSD3" I this the item ? If so will it fit under the body shell? Is it difficult to fit ? Any advice much appreciated. Thanks Tim
Offline ktsolias  
#7 Posted : 18 May 2020 19:55:20(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Joined: 01/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 479
Location: Athens
Hi Tim

The 60974 is only for retrofit decoders and connected to the SUSI socket.

So this is not your case

Costas
Offline TIM A-B  
#8 Posted : 18 May 2020 20:26:41(UTC)
TIM A-B

United Kingdom   
Joined: 13/05/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
Location: England
Hi Costas thanks for . So how do I configure a buffer for decoder on this loco or is it a too involved procedure? Thanks and regards Tim
Offline ktsolias  
#9 Posted : 18 May 2020 22:20:07(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Joined: 01/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 479
Location: Athens
I use this one

Buffer Capacitor Costas.jpg



Costas

Edited by user 19 May 2020 15:51:33(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline TIM A-B  
#10 Posted : 18 May 2020 22:59:39(UTC)
TIM A-B

United Kingdom   
Joined: 13/05/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
Location: England
Many thanks Costas, Tim
Offline ktsolias  
#11 Posted : 19 May 2020 15:58:55(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Joined: 01/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 479
Location: Athens
This is the picture of my DHG 500 3078

IMG_18130_resize.JPG

motor 60943
Decoder 60760
And the small buffer in the front made by me

I use the biggest capacitor who can fit inside each loco

Costas

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by ktsolias
Offline TIM A-B  
#12 Posted : 19 May 2020 16:37:18(UTC)
TIM A-B

United Kingdom   
Joined: 13/05/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
Location: England
Thanks very much Costas very helpful. Appreciate your time. TIm
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.534 seconds.