Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline johnmarklin  
#1 Posted : 04 January 2019 20:09:18(UTC)
johnmarklin

Ireland   
Good evening fellow Marklin enthusiasts.

I hope some of you knowledgeable people will be able to guide me. My friend has a Marklin 3602. He uses an Ecos 2 to control his layout. The 3602 has been programmed into the ECos as has all of his other locos. Unfortunately for him the 3602 does not respond to any commands from the Ecos. He gave the 3602 to me to try on my layout which is controlled by a Marklin CS2. It works perfectly with the CS2. I have limited knowledge of the Ecos system and wonder if I am overlooking a particular setting that I need to set for this and all Delta locomotives.

All suggestions will be welcome so that I will hopefully be able to sort this problem the next time I visit my friend in February.

Thank you,

John
Offline Markus Schild  
#2 Posted : 04 January 2019 21:28:26(UTC)
Markus Schild

Germany   
Hi John,

The 3602 has an old decoder only understanding the first version of the Motorola-format. This decoder only works when the red and brown wires are connected correctly to the rail: Red for the center - rail and brown for the ground. Most modern locomotives ignore when the wires are connected the other way but the old decoders need the correct connection.
At the ECOS "MOTOROLA 14" should be chosen for the decoder-type. "MOTOROLA 27" will not work.

Regards

Markus
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Markus Schild
H0
Offline johnmarklin  
#3 Posted : 05 January 2019 11:50:15(UTC)
johnmarklin

Ireland   
Markus,

Thank you for the information. I will not be able to implement this advice until I visit my friend in February. I will report back then. Unfortunately my friend is not knowledgeable about matters digital hence the delay in reporting back

John