Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

3 Pages<123
Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Nigel Packer  
#101 Posted : 05 March 2015 14:35:55(UTC)
Nigel Packer

United Kingdom   
Joined: 11/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 673
Location: Cheshire, UK
While we're here with this very useful list, it might be useful, Juhan, if you added motor parts number E188838, which are the motor conversion parts for the F800 series BR 01 (F800, 3008, 3026, 3048 and Primex 3193).

Nigel
Märklin collector since age 5.
H0 Collection from 1935 to today.
thanks 6 users liked this useful post by Nigel Packer
Offline H0  
#102 Posted : 19 May 2016 17:05:16(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,814
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: Webmaster Go to Quoted Post
You may also want:
E610080 Lamp bi pin 0.7 VA @ 19 V Digital
While E610080 is the correct lamp, the specs are probably incorrect.
From dealer web site:
E610080 Märklin Ersatzlampe Allglas T1 3,2mm 22V 24mA
E600080 Märklin Ersatzlampe Allglas T1 19V 50mA
http://www.lokmuseum.de/...artikel.php?SArt=1004529
http://www.lokmuseum.de/...artikel.php?SArt=1004523

"Analogue" Märklin H0 light bulbs are 19 V, "digital" light bulbs are 22 V.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by H0
Offline dominator  
#103 Posted : 20 February 2018 09:48:07(UTC)
dominator

New Zealand   
Joined: 20/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,190
Location: Kerikeri
I wonder if it wold be possible to list the various decoders available, and what loco types they will fit, along with their pro's and con's. And of course, make it a "sticky".

Dereck
Northland. NZ REMEMBER 0228 for ä
Offline leistef  
#104 Posted : 20 February 2018 10:23:57(UTC)
leistef

United States   
Joined: 19/11/2017(UTC)
Posts: 19
Location: Colorado Springs, USA
That would be a good one!!!🚂🚂🚂
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by leistef
Offline dominator  
#105 Posted : 21 February 2018 09:54:08(UTC)
dominator

New Zealand   
Joined: 20/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,190
Location: Kerikeri
Bugger all interest though.Sad
Northland. NZ REMEMBER 0228 for ä
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#106 Posted : 21 February 2018 10:29:13(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,521
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: dominator Go to Quoted Post
Bugger all interest though.Sad


Nothing stopping you starting the list....
Offline franciscohg  
#107 Posted : 21 February 2018 18:14:29(UTC)
franciscohg

Chile   
Joined: 10/07/2002(UTC)
Posts: 3,198
Location: Patagonia
well, it seems interesting, but....
Motor parts are that, motor parts and there is no discussion about that, using a HAMO magnet or upgrade to 5 pole is no matter of doubt, except for budget.
Having sais that, for decos is a totally different thing with many variables involved such as brand, system used, sound or no sound, personal taste of the user, etc
so a full review may be a little complex to do and always biased by the user.
Personally, using a CS2 and mfx, my choice for non sound deco is mainly Marklin decos.
For sound decoders i always use Loksounds M4, must say that i am heavily tempted by Doehler & Haas lately and may go that way in the future even if they are not mfx capable, but sound is great.
As for decoder interface i am doing all my work with 21 MTC
Regards
UserPostedImage German trains era I-II and selected III, era depends on the mood, mostly Maerklin but i can be heretic if needed XD, heresy is no longer an issue.. LOL
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by franciscohg
Offline dominator  
#108 Posted : 22 February 2018 00:27:38(UTC)
dominator

New Zealand   
Joined: 20/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,190
Location: Kerikeri
Nothing stopping you starting the list....

Ok. Will ask the question in a different thread,.
Northland. NZ REMEMBER 0228 for ä
Offline AM1  
#109 Posted : 22 February 2018 01:57:30(UTC)
AM1

Canada   
Joined: 22/04/2017(UTC)
Posts: 9
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Originally Posted by: franciscohg Go to Quoted Post
well, it seems interesting, but....
Motor parts are that, motor parts and there is no discussion about that, using a HAMO magnet or upgrade to 5 pole is no matter of doubt, except for budget.
Having sais that, for decos is a totally different thing with many variables involved such as brand, system used, sound or no sound, personal taste of the user, etc
so a full review may be a little complex to do and always biased by the user.
Personally, using a CS2 and mfx, my choice for non sound deco is mainly Marklin decos.
For sound decoders i always use Loksounds M4, must say that i am heavily tempted by Doehler & Haas lately and may go that way in the future even if they are not mfx capable, but sound is great.
As for decoder interface i am doing all my work with 21 MTC
Regards


Hi, wondering if you could also use these ESU magnets instead of the ones that come with the Märklin conversion kits (ie 60941/943/944), while still using the M kit 5 pole armature, brushes and motor shield? As far as I can tell there is no other manufacturer for the armatures, brushes and shields.

http://www.esu.eu/en/pro...ories/permanent-magnets/

Thanks and regards.
Offline franciscohg  
#110 Posted : 22 February 2018 02:52:41(UTC)
franciscohg

Chile   
Joined: 10/07/2002(UTC)
Posts: 3,198
Location: Patagonia
Hi, AFAIK when using HAMO magnets ( ESU ones ) you must retain the motorshield and 3 pole rotor. The diameter of a 5 pole rotor is much less than the 3 poles ones, using magnets designed for these rotors will make too much space betweenthis one and the magnet.
Regards
UserPostedImage German trains era I-II and selected III, era depends on the mood, mostly Maerklin but i can be heretic if needed XD, heresy is no longer an issue.. LOL
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#111 Posted : 22 February 2018 21:47:21(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,521
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: dominator Go to Quoted Post
Nothing stopping you starting the list....

Ok. Will ask the question in a different thread,.


Here's a big long list of decoders, but it doesn't include anything from Märklin. Not sure that there's much useful info there either from a Märklin perspective.
Offline Crazy Harry  
#112 Posted : 23 February 2018 04:33:11(UTC)
Crazy Harry

Canada   
Joined: 18/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 454
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post
Here's a big long list of decoders


Hi David,

Is there a link missing from your message?

Harold.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Crazy Harry
Offline ocram63_uk  
#113 Posted : 27 August 2019 13:34:59(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 655
Location: England, Suffolk
Hi everyone, on page two in the first video on how to digitise a motor the anchor or rotor is shown, is this the Large rotor as the 3 'green' bits are sticking way out of the 3 copper flat surface compared to the Small one where they are hidden behind the flat 3 copper surfaces ?
Offline Norton1972  
#114 Posted : 18 February 2020 18:27:01(UTC)
Norton1972

United States   
Joined: 11/08/2019(UTC)
Posts: 51
Location: Idaho, Boise
So if I read this all correctly I should be able to convert my analog loko to digital. This, to me, means that I can control them with my MS2 but will not have sound. (One of Marklin's shops told me that there isn't room in the loko housing to put a speaker and the other component(s) to make the sounds.)

I'm OK without the sound on my conversions as I really like the loko and would love to keep it in the arsenal of locomotives for use on the layout.

The main loko I want to convert is a 3316 series 25. Beautiful loko and I'd only get half of what I have invested in it.

Thanks as always,
Steve
Offline Norton1972  
#115 Posted : 18 February 2020 18:31:03(UTC)
Norton1972

United States   
Joined: 11/08/2019(UTC)
Posts: 51
Location: Idaho, Boise
https://www.ebay.com/itm...a4e13:g:ieYAAMXQeW5TYuue

This would be the unit to do the above?
Offline TEEWolf  
#116 Posted : 18 February 2020 19:17:12(UTC)
TEEWolf


Joined: 01/06/2016(UTC)
Posts: 2,465
Originally Posted by: Norton1972 Go to Quoted Post
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Marklin-HO-60941-Digital-High-Efficiency-Locomotive-Motor-Conversion-from-60760/191399349779?epid=9003303178&hash=item2c904a4e13:g:ieYAAMXQeW5TYuue

This would be the unit to do the above?


In this website for older locos

http://www.maerklin-samm...iven/03316/03316_mlb.htm

scroll down to the section "Digitaler Umbausatz Hochleistungsantrieb (HLA) DCM" for conversion.
They say the "Digitaler HLA-Motor-Umrüstsatz" article #60941 shall be the correct one.
Offline Martti Mäntylä  
#117 Posted : 18 February 2020 22:27:10(UTC)
Martti Mäntylä

Finland   
Joined: 15/11/2018(UTC)
Posts: 338
Location: Uusimaa, Helsinki
Originally Posted by: Norton1972 Go to Quoted Post
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Marklin-HO-60941-Digital-High-Efficiency-Locomotive-Motor-Conversion-from-60760/191399349779?epid=9003303178&hash=item2c904a4e13:g:ieYAAMXQeW5TYuue

This would be the unit to do the above?

Better get the whole kit 60760 that also includes a decoder. The cited offer just contains the motor conversion parts.
- Martti M.
Era III analog & digital (Rocrail, CAN Digital Bahn, Gleisbox/MS2, K83/K84), C & M tracks, some Spur 1
Offline Norton1972  
#118 Posted : 19 February 2020 01:35:06(UTC)
Norton1972

United States   
Joined: 11/08/2019(UTC)
Posts: 51
Location: Idaho, Boise
OK - I ordered this one: I'll be back on how to let my MS2 know that it is there!

Thanks!
Steve
Offline river6109  
#119 Posted : 19 February 2020 02:23:33(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 14,128
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
ESU has listed their programming CV's with V 5.0 loksound/lokpilot decoders wheres locos had been converted with ESU magnets (for all types of Märklin motors, this didn't happen with Version 4.0 decoders, it could be the new programming Cv's for this option may be more useful to control these conversions with a better running characteristic result. (?)

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline nmbssncb  
#120 Posted : 11 September 2022 18:42:31(UTC)
nmbssncb


Joined: 07/08/2008(UTC)
Posts: 22
Location: ,
Originally Posted by: robinpk Go to Quoted Post
Dear Juhan,

What kind of motor parts would I be needing for the Alaska (3462), The Warbonnet (3362) and the Rio Grande (3062)? As people are telling me they have DCM motors and others the LFCM version.
Please avise

Robin


Both 3462 and 3362 have a DCM (use 60941 conversion set) and the 3062 a SFCM (use 60943 conversion set). Check http://www.marklin.com


Willy
Offline mrunix  
#121 Posted : 27 December 2022 23:21:27(UTC)
mrunix

Sweden   
Joined: 18/02/2022(UTC)
Posts: 23
Location: Uppsala lan, Uppsala
I have just got the Swedish set 28703 from my kids and from what I understand the loco is digital but not MFX.

How to convert this to high MFX so it pops up automatically in MS2 CS3 and have functions for headlight and the cars controllable?

Also I like to convert the motor what kits is suitable?
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#122 Posted : 28 December 2022 06:14:27(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,521
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: RayF Go to Quoted Post
Even with the motor cover upside down, there is still very little room for the chokes.


Some factory installations I have seen mount the chokes in the loco's tender. A wire is run from there across to the loco and to the motor connection point.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#123 Posted : 28 December 2022 06:16:36(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,521
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: mrunix Go to Quoted Post
Also I like to convert the motor what kits is suitable?


Check the bottom of the first post in this thread, I have added them there.

However, if your loco is already digital you do not need to change the motor parts - it already has them (or is running another type of DC motor).

For mFX conversion you need to swap the loco's current decoder for a mFX one - 60975 is the mFX Sound Decoder for Steam locos. 60972 is the mFX decoder without sound.

Offline bph  
#124 Posted : 28 December 2022 12:05:58(UTC)
bph

Norway   
Joined: 04/08/2018(UTC)
Posts: 682
Originally Posted by: mrunix Go to Quoted Post
I have just got the Swedish set 28703 from my kids and from what I understand the loco is digital but not MFX.

How to convert this to high MFX so it pops up automatically in MS2 CS3 and have functions for headlight and the cars controllable?

Also I like to convert the motor what kits is suitable?


hi
you have several options with this locomotive.
1. keep the motor and use a 60906 decoder. No modification is needed. the downside is "noise" and lack of motor regulation, and light flicker in the coaches. This is the easiest and most economical way of adding MFX. Personally, I'm not bothered by the noise when 60906 is used and it's similar to how the current decoder you have sounds.
2. 60941 and 60972 or 60982. Some modification on the locomotive is probably needed. best driving properties. recommend small relays on the current-conducting couplers.
3. 60941 and 60975 or 60985 with sound, but very tight. Some modification on the locomotive is probably needed. best driving properties. recommend small relays on the current-conducting couplers.

My upgrade of this nice locomotive (28702): https://www.marklin-users.net/forum/posts/t43133-Marklin-current-conducting-couplers-causing-decoder-short-circuiting-and-made-it-smoke.

(and don't forget to check that the lightbulbs are E610080 in the locomotive and the coaches)

thanks 3 users liked this useful post by bph
Offline BenP  
#125 Posted : 28 December 2022 21:24:24(UTC)
BenP

United States   
Joined: 04/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 217
Location: Michigan, Ann Arbor
Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: RayF Go to Quoted Post
Even with the motor cover upside down, there is still very little room for the chokes.


Some factory installations I have seen mount the chokes in the loco's tender. A wire is run from there across to the loco and to the motor connection point.


LokPilot5 does not recommend motor chokes, as opposed to Marklin decoder. Creates room.
Digital M track layout with mostly vintage rolling stock and accessories, and small Z scale layout.
https://youtube.com/play...0kgVYbh0CeDTF-bYXoD_2-V9
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by BenP
bph
Offline mrunix  
#126 Posted : 08 January 2023 13:46:55(UTC)
mrunix

Sweden   
Joined: 18/02/2022(UTC)
Posts: 23
Location: Uppsala lan, Uppsala
Hello, I am a very beginner with advanced Märklin trains but plan to make a medium size M track when times allows, for now I run on the floor in one of the kids old room using C track.

I have a CS3 since XMAS and have 5-6 engines that I plan to upgrade to MFX but have problems to decide if I should go ESU LokPilot 5 or Märklin msd3.

1. Which vendor is the best to chose?
2. Do I need a special tool/HW to update the decoder including sound?
3. Where to find sound for Märklin decoder, the link below does not list any sound files or FW files?
https://www.maerklin.de/en/service/downloads

4. If chosing ESU will CS3 still work fine with it
5. If chosing Märklin msd3 can I add sound from ESU website?
Offline bph  
#127 Posted : 08 January 2023 15:03:53(UTC)
bph

Norway   
Joined: 04/08/2018(UTC)
Posts: 682
Originally Posted by: mrunix Go to Quoted Post
Hello, I am a very beginner with advanced Märklin trains but plan to make a medium size M track when times allows, for now I run on the floor in one of the kids old room using C track.

I have a CS3 since XMAS and have 5-6 engines that I plan to upgrade to MFX but have problems to decide if I should go ESU LokPilot 5 or Märklin msd3.

1. Which vendor is the best to chose?
the vendor you are most happy with ;), but since you have a CS3, Marklin decoders would be the easiest and most "integrated" option. But if you choose ESU you also need an ESU programmer. unless you get a dealer or a friend to do the programming.
Originally Posted by: mrunix Go to Quoted Post
2. Do I need a special tool/HW to update the decoder including sound?
No, use can use the CS3 connected to a PC, but the usb tool (60971) is much faster etc.
download the mDecooderTool from: https://www.maerklin.de/de/service/downloads/neu-nachruest-decoder-mld3msd3. sounds are included in the software, and you can also use the software to download decoder projects to specific newer locomotive.
Originally Posted by: mrunix Go to Quoted Post
4. If chosing ESU will CS3 still work fine with it
Yes.
Originally Posted by: mrunix Go to Quoted Post
5. If chosing Märklin msd3 can I add sound from ESU website?
No. (encrypted files). But you can use any free sound file you want, as long as it's in a compatible format.
generally, esu is often considered to have better sound projects etc. But if you use a good quality speaker together with a marlin decoder the sound is quite decent. Personally, I use Marklin (sound) decoder mostly because of the system integration. I have not ruled out a second brand, but if were to choose a different decoder brand for some locomotives that would most likely be zimo. (even if I have some esu sound decoders).

I recommend that you also download the esu software, and take a look around it and compare it to Marklin software. before you decide. Best of luck Smile
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by bph
Offline mrunix  
#128 Posted : 08 January 2023 17:50:01(UTC)
mrunix

Sweden   
Joined: 18/02/2022(UTC)
Posts: 23
Location: Uppsala lan, Uppsala

One of my trains to be converted is ICE 3371 which has two big DC motors, can MSD3 handle two engines without burning up, I assume I can connect them in parallell?
Offline kiwiAlan  
#129 Posted : 08 January 2023 22:15:31(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 7,410
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: mrunix Go to Quoted Post

One of my trains to be converted is ICE 3371 which has two big DC motors, can MSD3 handle two engines without burning up, I assume I can connect them in parallell?


There is a thread on this forum of people who have converted these. Someone in Germany sells a replacement PCB to put in the end units to fit a decoder and pickup show switch unit.

Details are in this thread, most recent information from post 16 onwards.


Offline kiwiAlan  
#130 Posted : 08 January 2023 22:46:07(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 7,410
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
In addition to what bph wrote, I'll add my two-penn'orth as well ...

Originally Posted by: mrunix Go to Quoted Post
Hello, I am a very beginner with advanced Märklin trains but plan to make a medium size M track when times allows, for now I run on the floor in one of the kids old room using C track.

I have a CS3 since XMAS and have 5-6 engines that I plan to upgrade to MFX but have problems to decide if I should go ESU LokPilot 5 or Märklin msd3.

1. Which vendor is the best to chose?


That will depend on how involved you wish to get with programming the decoders, and tweaking the projects. Marklin has not been as open as ESU in detailing how to set up projects as ESU has, although some people I know who have used both think the Marklin ones are a little better. There is an active email group for Loksound decoders on groups.io with some very skilled people at setting them up.

Originally Posted by: mrunix Go to Quoted Post

2. Do I need a special tool/HW to update the decoder including sound?


To load a sound file onto a decoder will require the programmer hardware and software from the decoder manufacturer. I believe it is possible to load a Marklin decoder with the decoder project using a cs2 or cs3, but this will be slower than using the Marklin programmer. Both the Marklin and ESU programmer software run on Windows operating system, there is no native version for Linux or Mac OS. I believe the ESU software can be used on Linux and Mac using WINE.

Originally Posted by: mrunix Go to Quoted Post

3. Where to find sound for Märklin decoder, the link below does not list any sound files or FW files?
https://www.maerklin.de/en/service/downloads


The Marklin programmer software can download all the available projects that Marklin have available for recent factory produced locos, along with a library of sound files for making your own projects. I understand it is possible to also use your own files.

ESU have a considerable number of sound files available on their web site. There has been a library of sound files in the past as well, I'm not sure if it is still available. It is also possible to use your own sound files in projects.

Originally Posted by: mrunix Go to Quoted Post

4. If chosing ESU will CS3 still work fine with it


You can run ESU decoders on a cs3 or cs2. You should be able to adjust CVs using the cs3 or cs2 as well.

Originally Posted by: mrunix Go to Quoted Post

5. If chosing Märklin msd3 can I add sound from ESU website?


No, the sound files are encrypted and can only be used with the ESU Lokprogrammer. Equally the Marklin sound files are encrypted and can only be used with the Marklin programmer.

I'm told that Zimo also make decoders that can be used with mfx systems, but I have no experience with these. They are reported to be very good decoders as well.


As a side note to all this, be very careful if attempting to adjust the extended CVs on any of these decoders. Using the appropriate manufacturers programmer will handle it all for you, but attempting to program indexed CVs from a cab control will almost always introduce errors. Use software like JMRI which handles all the indexing automatically and provides human readable names for CVs. JMRI also understands marklin msd/3 and msd decoders (along with just about every available DCC decoder).
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kiwiAlan
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
3 Pages<123
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2023, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.631 seconds.