Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline fvelazdem  
#1 Posted : 20 November 2023 12:24:40(UTC)
fvelazdem

Spain   
Joined: 20/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Madrid, Spain
Hello everyone.

I have a new C-track turntable (74862) that has been working perfectly until a few days ago. Now when I select one of the slots that I defined in the installation it never stops there and therefore a loco cannot go to the warehouse.

This coincided when I tried to carry a loco from the year 64 that is all metal and therefore very heavy and it seemed that the roundabout could not handle it.

Does anyone know what can I do? Is there a way to reset the turntable so that it starts working correctly?

Thanks in advance
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 20 November 2023 12:41:39(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 15,245
Location: DE-NW
Did you check that all the small plastic thingies that mark installed tracks are still in place?
Maybe the load of the old loco was so heavy that the bridge of the turntable touched one of those and pulled it out of place.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline fvelazdem  
#3 Posted : 20 November 2023 13:02:29(UTC)
fvelazdem

Spain   
Joined: 20/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Madrid, Spain
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Did you check that all the small plastic thingies that mark installed tracks are still in place?
Maybe the load of the old loco was so heavy that the bridge of the turntable touched one of those and pulled it out of place.



Not yet, thanks for the advice. I will check
Offline JohnjeanB  
#4 Posted : 20 November 2023 13:23:20(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 3,052
Location: Paris, France
Hi Fernando
I think many issues come fom the very flimsy structure of the TT:
- Märklin redesigned the support of the TT (now a ring instead of 6 small Z-shaped holders
- you started having problems when a heavy loco was used
- many other complains from marklinists

I think, one way to correct this is to prepare a thick plywood (15 mm?) support round with cut-outs (for the motor, etc) and ears (for the threaded rod supports) to come into contact of the bottom of the pitt.

The whole support plywood plate is to be attached to the main layout board by means of six threaded rods and nuts so that the support can be solid and precisely adjusted.
This is a general disease of most turntables. I have a 7286 (Fleischmann / Märklin) with similar problems but far less than on this new Märklin TT.
On this TT, the bridge's weight rests with the outer circular rail and this is where the TT needs the most support

Another thing to do is to re-initialize the TT (In case an electrical contact glitch caused the decoder to lose its data.

And of course check the presence of all these small tabs for optical detection that may be extracted by the TT when ere are too large mechanical constrains
If they are all in place, don't touch them.

Cheers
Jean
Offline fvelazdem  
#5 Posted : 21 November 2023 13:01:02(UTC)
fvelazdem

Spain   
Joined: 20/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Madrid, Spain
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post
Hi Fernando
I think many issues come fom the very flimsy structure of the TT:
- Märklin redesigned the support of the TT (now a ring instead of 6 small Z-shaped holders
- you started having problems when a heavy loco was used
- many other complains from marklinists

I think, one way to correct this is to prepare a thick plywood (15 mm?) support round with cut-outs (for the motor, etc) and ears (for the threaded rod supports) to come into contact of the bottom of the pitt.

The whole support plywood plate is to be attached to the main layout board by means of six threaded rods and nuts so that the support can be solid and precisely adjusted.
This is a general disease of most turntables. I have a 7286 (Fleischmann / Märklin) with similar problems but far less than on this new Märklin TT.
On this TT, the bridge's weight rests with the outer circular rail and this is where the TT needs the most support

Another thing to do is to re-initialize the TT (In case an electrical contact glitch caused the decoder to lose its data.

And of course check the presence of all these small tabs for optical detection that may be extracted by the TT when ere are too large mechanical constrains
If they are all in place, don't touch them.

Cheers
Jean


Thanks Jean for your advices, I have Plywood installed more or less as your recommendation. What I do not know is how I can re-initialize the TT. If you tell me how to do it it will be a great help. In parallel I wrote marklin describing my issue. As soon as I get an answer I will share. By the way, there is no marklin document where advice against using heavy Locos with the TT

Offline JohnjeanB  
#6 Posted : 21 November 2023 13:59:35(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 3,052
Location: Paris, France
Hi Fernando
Assuming you have a CS3
- you must start with a back-up of your CS3 for safe-keeping
- then you select the EDIT tab (top right of screen
- then select edit article list on the drop-down menu
- next find where your DS is located (Drehscheibe or Turntable -TT - in German)

Here is the same on mine (but with a different TT model 7286)
cs3_edit Plaque Tournante 1.png
- Select it and delete it.
- If you azre in MFX, the TT will register again. If it does not then return to the main screen, select the EDIT tab and then, in the drop-down menu, select "Discover MFX items like here

cs3_screenshot_2023_11_21_12_43_14.png

- then select edit TT (click on the TT symbol and then push the RIGHT ARROW (bottom right of screen)

cs3_edit Plaque Tournante 1.png

- Pushing the arrow you get this screen

cs3_edit Plaque Tournante 2.png

- before re-initiailizing the TT, position it to the position you wish to be track 1 using the upper field "Correct Track 1")
- once, this is done, then push "Start Programming"
- The TT will then scan for all track positions (whether there is a track or a "concrete border") each time emitting a different sound for tracks or for borders.
- when this is finished, you must leave this {programming} screen by selecting CLOSE.
- now, when you select the TT, you will see your TT exact configuration and you may drag the TT image to the wished position and the TT will follow.
Here is the video from Märklin but in German so you may correct potential mistakes I have made because I don't have this TT but another one



I hope this helps
Cheers
Jean
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Offline fvelazdem  
#7 Posted : 21 November 2023 20:21:34(UTC)
fvelazdem

Spain   
Joined: 20/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Madrid, Spain
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post
Hi Fernando
Assuming you have a CS3
- you must start with a back-up of your CS3 for safe-keeping
- then you select the EDIT tab (top right of screen
- then select edit article list on the drop-down menu
- next find where your DS is located (Drehscheibe or Turntable -TT - in German)

Here is the same on mine (but with a different TT model 7286)
cs3_edit Plaque Tournante 1.png
- Select it and delete it.
- If you azre in MFX, the TT will register again. If it does not then return to the main screen, select the EDIT tab and then, in the drop-down menu, select "Discover MFX items like here

cs3_screenshot_2023_11_21_12_43_14.png

- then select edit TT (click on the TT symbol and then push the RIGHT ARROW (bottom right of screen)

cs3_edit Plaque Tournante 1.png

- Pushing the arrow you get this screen

cs3_edit Plaque Tournante 2.png

- before re-initiailizing the TT, position it to the position you wish to be track 1 using the upper field "Correct Track 1")
- once, this is done, then push "Start Programming"
- The TT will then scan for all track positions (whether there is a track or a "concrete border") each time emitting a different sound for tracks or for borders.
- when this is finished, you must leave this {programming} screen by selecting CLOSE.
- now, when you select the TT, you will see your TT exact configuration and you may drag the TT image to the wished position and the TT will follow.
Here is the video from Märklin but in German so you may correct potential mistakes I have made because I don't have this TT but another one



I hope this helps
Cheers
Jean



Jean, Thanks a lot!!! I will do
Offline fvelazdem  
#8 Posted : 17 December 2023 19:23:24(UTC)
fvelazdem

Spain   
Joined: 20/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Madrid, Spain
Jean,

Disassemble the TT, check if the pukos were correctly placed, everything is correct. I reinstalled the TT and followed the steps you suggested. Nothing worked, even the configuration shows places to stop and in those places it did not change the puko, a disaster. I wrote to Marklin and after a few days they replied asking me to send them the TT. It's frustrating, the TT is not exactly cheap and it has worked for me for very few days. By the way, Marklin answered me that using the TT with such an old and therefore heavy Loco should not cause problems.
Offline Ross  
#9 Posted : 17 December 2023 22:50:17(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 864
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi Fernando/All,

As Jean said this is the setup for the old 7686-7687 turntable.

The c-track turntable 74861 and 74862 only has 30 segments and the programming is different

You should ensure that the CS3 firmware is upto date first.
The C-track turntable has a mfx decoder but the default protocol for the TT is MM
Find the TT and it will register as mfx
Make sure you select it and you should only see 30 segments
You will be able to set track 1 first then initilize to program all the required segments.

I hope you get it repaired soon.

Originally Posted by: fvelazdem Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post
Hi Fernando

cs3_edit Plaque Tournante 2.png

Jean


Jean, Thanks a lot!!! I will do


Ross
Offline fvelazdem  
#10 Posted : 18 December 2023 14:20:09(UTC)
fvelazdem

Spain   
Joined: 20/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Madrid, Spain
Thanks Ross. This Morning I wento the my Marklin Dealer and they will send the TT to Marklin after Christmass, Marklin do not accept any shipping during this peiod.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by fvelazdem
Offline fvelazdem  
#11 Posted : 11 January 2024 13:25:24(UTC)
fvelazdem

Spain   
Joined: 20/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 16
Location: Madrid, Spain
Originally Posted by: fvelazdem Go to Quoted Post
Thanks Ross. This Morning I wento the my Marklin Dealer and they will send the TT to Marklin after Christmass, Marklin do not accept any shipping during this peiod.


Happy new year for everybody. Last week through the marklin dealer I sent to Marklin the TT, let see how long it will take, I'm afraid quite a bit.

In addition I bought 39745 and it was blocked, even with the fingers I was not able to move the wheels. I also sent the loco to marklin.

I will keep you update of any news.
Offline 60904  
#12 Posted : 13 January 2024 22:10:10(UTC)
60904

Germany   
Joined: 27/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 311
Originally Posted by: fvelazdem Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: fvelazdem Go to Quoted Post
Thanks Ross. This Morning I wento the my Marklin Dealer and they will send the TT to Marklin after Christmass, Marklin do not accept any shipping during this peiod.


Happy new year for everybody. Last week through the marklin dealer I sent to Marklin the TT, let see how long it will take, I'm afraid quite a bit.

In addition I bought 39745 and it was blocked, even with the fingers I was not able to move the wheels. I also sent the loco to marklin.

I will keep you update of any news.


Hi,

it is impossible to turn the wheels!!! Nothing is blocked. The gearing does not allow this. Worm gear! Most of the new models have this- for many years.
Greetings
Martin
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by 60904
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2024, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.714 seconds.