Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Manga  
#1 Posted : 05 November 2023 12:15:51(UTC)
Manga

Australia   
As a complete beginner, with no prior knowledge, what did you do first before building your layout ?
Surely you didn't just jump straight in and build framework and such.

I'm asking about the modelling/construction process more than track layout.

How did you develop skills to form terrain ?
What did you do to make a riverbed that is below track level ?
What logistics are involved in placing track risers in an open-frame design ?

Would building simple dioramas to develop skills be a waste of time ?

is_it_a_layout.jpg

Edited by user 24 November 2023 22:25:57(UTC)  | Reason: More specific question

thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Manga
Offline cintrans  
#2 Posted : 05 November 2023 13:51:05(UTC)
cintrans

Aruba   
Mine started in the late 70' when my parents got me a double Lima "golden series" set. It had a freight and passenger set in it together with a printed "lay out" with an assortment of buildings. That was my first layout!

In the years after that it was expanded with Lima accessories and a few additional sets (like the Japanese bullet train) that where available at the time, until the room the layout was in needed to be repurposed and everything ended up in boxes....

40 years later I rolled into model trains again via a friend that was an avid Marklin collector.... not so much for the trains but to get a backdrop for my vast HO model truck collection (Herpa) witch has always been my number 1 modeling hobby The rolling landstrasse and kombi verkehr sets are therefore my favorite train sets!