Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Mr. Ron  
#1 Posted : 06 January 2023 09:07:30(UTC)
Mr. Ron

United States   
Are the link and screw couplings still used on British freight vans? How about the side mounted brake lever?
Offline Bogenschütze  
#2 Posted : 06 January 2023 16:54:04(UTC)
Bogenschütze

United Kingdom   
Originally Posted by: Mr. Ron Go to Quoted Post
Are the link and screw couplings still used on British freight vans? How about the side mounted brake lever?

I'm not an expert on the modern rail scene in the UK but I do live in SE England and see occasional freight movements on my local mainline. The old 4-wheel wagons with side operated brake levers are really only to be found on heritage lines. AFAIK most British freight workings use bogie wagons and are fully vacuum braked with wheel operated brakes when stationary. The screw-link and hook coupling is still the commonest form for loose wagons although some permanently coupled consists may use buckeye types.

Bogie-of-megabox-WHD.png

Marklin - "The train set I never had as a child."
Keith Bowman
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bogenschütze
Offline rmsailor  
#3 Posted : 06 January 2023 18:55:58(UTC)
rmsailor

Scotland   
Originally Posted by: Bogenschütze Go to Quoted Post

I'm not an expert on the modern rail scene in the UK but I do live in SE England and see occasional freight movements on my local mainline. The old 4-wheel wagons with side operated brake levers are really only to be found on heritage lines. AFAIK most British freight workings use bogie wagons and are fully vacuum braked with wheel operated brakes when stationary. The screw-link and hook coupling is still the commonest form for loose wagons although some permanently coupled consists may use buckeye types.

Bogie-of-megabox-WHD.png