Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Don Morris  
#1 Posted : 02 December 2022 04:36:48(UTC)
Don Morris

New Zealand   
Joined: 14/01/2016(UTC)
Posts: 34
I have 4 m8's, 2 second hand, 2 new. The led on the left hand side of all 4 devices flash. as described in the manual. Can anyone tell me why the red and green led's on one of the outlet ports on the one of 2nd hand devices and a red on the other are lit up permanently. The devices are being used to operate uncoupler tracks. I would appreciate any suggestions.
Thanks Ted Morris
Offline clapcott  
#2 Posted : 02 December 2022 08:21:45(UTC)
clapcott

New Zealand   
Joined: 12/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,369
Location: Wellington, New_Zealand
The m83 ports may be configure for multiple purposes, not just a pair that pulses red and green to switch a turnout or signal.

The later is the default setting, but it sounds like you have inherited a unit that has been otherwise configured.

You could try resetting the unit to factory defaults.


The m83 has been produced in two variants
- m83.1 = 60831 = white
- m83.2 = 60832 = black - mfx configurable

either way
you may reset the unit by setting a value in CV8 (usually documented as a value of 8 for simplicity)
Peter
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by clapcott
Offline Ted  
#3 Posted : 26 December 2022 04:30:46(UTC)
Ted

New Zealand   
Joined: 27/12/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1
Location: WANGANUI
Thanks Peter for your Reply, I am unsure to where I change the setting , i understand it it via the cs3. Can you describe a bit more fully. Cheers Ted

Offline Goofy  
#4 Posted : 26 December 2022 11:27:30(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,716
TS did wrote second hand so is suppose it is same as new?
If you want to reset second hand turnout decoder i recommended you try first connect to the programming track and visit adress CV 8 and write 8 in value.
Be sure that adress of the turnout decoder are correct what it stand in the cab control too.
Are yours turnout decoder set at MM or DCC protocol?
H0
DCC = Digital Command Control
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#5 Posted : 26 December 2022 11:41:51(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,519
Location: New Zealand
Moved topic to Digital Sub-Forum
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#6 Posted : 26 December 2022 11:46:50(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,519
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: Ted Go to Quoted Post
I am unsure to where I change the setting , i understand it it via the cs3. Can you describe a bit more fully.


I suggest you RTFM - "Read the Fine Manual" - Page 17 of the M83 manual documents the programming process.



thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2023, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.520 seconds.