Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline nyimpe  
#1 Posted : 27 February 2022 20:36:19(UTC)
nyimpe

United States   
Hi everyone. I am new to Märklin and to digital, so please bear with me if I seem completely lost.

I picked up a used 3075 locomotive at a train show. On the box it says "Decoder #74" but I don't think that is possible because the decoder only has four switches. I tried getting my mobile station to locate it using the "manual" function, entering the correct address as I see it on the pins. Yet, the mobile station says "no loco." Just for fun, I also tried the 74 address but that didn't work either.

I'm either doing something wrong or there is a connection problem between the decoder and the track, I assume.

Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks.
Offline ktsolias  
#2 Posted : 27 February 2022 23:05:50(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Hi
Please post a photo of the decoder

Costas
Offline marklinist5999  
#3 Posted : 28 February 2022 15:01:43(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Hello nympie! I am in southeastern Michigan, yourself if I may ask?
Yes, a Kstolias said, a pic will help. If it has dip switches, their on and off settings will tell you the address according to the user manual, or Marklin decoder address chart.
A basic older Delta decoder won't have any, and those were factory set @ address 78. Later delta decoders have 4 dip switches. Marklin digital decoders had 8 up until MFX decoders. Thses are auto-recognition without dip switches.
ESU early Locpilot or Locksound basic decoders, or Uhlenbrock brands were small, direct wired and also no dip switches. Marklin did use these on some models. The previous owner may have installed one.
The address must be changed using a Marklin 6021 controller, ESU controller, or Uhlenbrock Intellibox.
Offline Crazy Harry