Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline nicko.goncharoff@gma  
#1 Posted : 26 December 2020 14:25:20(UTC)
nicko.goncharoff@gma

United Kingdom   
Hi all, Merry Christmas and happy Boxing Day. My name is Nicko and I'm new to this user group. By way of introduction: I'm based in London but am originally from the US. So when I got back into model railways (as well as scale aircraft modelling) a few years back, I naturally gravitated toward HO and Marklin. Not the easiest choice living in the UK, but definitely worth it.

I have an unfortunate Christmas-time quandary. In 2018 I bought a used Marklin Br 94 digital locomotive as part of the 29721 starter set. This became the basis of a collapsible Christmas layout we set up (see photo). While the loco worked when I tested it, upon returning home it would occasionally fail to run. I had it repaired and it turned out there was a problem with the wheelset, which needed some maintenance and adjustment. After the repair the gentlemen who did the work said the wheelset seemed a bit worn and "could go out of alignment if the loco is pushed by hand or pulls a heavy load."

The loco worked well after that, through Christmas of 2018 and 2019, and was fine this year from December 13th up until December 24th (poor timing!). On the 24th I noticed that while the lights and sound effects all worked, the engine would either not run, or would run intermittently, at a limited top speed and with significantly delayed response to inputs on the mobile controller. At this point the engine basically does not run at all. The problem seems to be with the loco itself rather than the power supply to the track, as not only did the loco lights/effects work, but the lighting on three passenger carriages also illuminates.