Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline LoKoalaMotive  
#1 Posted : 29 November 2019 10:58:18(UTC)
LoKoalaMotive

Australia   
Joined: 29/11/2019(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: New South Wales, Sydney
Hi,

I'm new here and need some information on the Marklin AC motors. Around a month ago, I acquired a few Locomotives that are all from 60s. A few are brand new BigGrin , and few are used, but two are ruined, with broken field magnets and even missing commutator segments Angry . I've fully serviced the used ones so that they run as new, but now have turned my attention to trying to resurrect the remaining 2 dead ones.
I'm at the point where I want to rewind the AC field magnet, and was wondering if anyone here knows how many turns of wire it has? The Marklin part number for the field magnet is 215330. Also, does anyone know the difference between the 215330 and 214010 field magnet in the 3031/3032? Thanks in advance.
Offline kiwiAlan  
#2 Posted : 29 November 2019 11:16:45(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 4,671
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: LoKoalaMotive Go to Quoted Post
Hi,

I'm new here and need some information on the Marklin AC motors. Around a month ago, I acquired a few Locomotives that are all from 60s. A few are brand new BigGrin , and few are used, but two are ruined, with broken field magnets and even missing commutator segments Angry . I've fully serviced the used ones so that they run as new, but now have turned my attention to trying to resurrect the remaining 2 dead ones.
I'm at the point where I want to rewind the AC field magnet, and was wondering if anyone here knows how many turns of wire it has? The Marklin part number for the field magnet is 215330. Also, does anyone know the difference between the 215330 and 214010 field magnet in the 3031/3032? Thanks in advance.


Don't get too quick about rewinding them. I'm sure there will be a number of offers to supply magnets from where people have replaced them when upgrading a loco to digital. You will probably be offered armatures as well.



Offline LoKoalaMotive  
#3 Posted : 29 November 2019 11:32:08(UTC)
LoKoalaMotive

Australia   
Joined: 29/11/2019(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: New South Wales, Sydney
Thanks for the prompt reply. Part of me wants to just get it running, another part would like to say "I did it" (like cookee_nz said almost 2 years ago). Even if I got it running, given that I have a dead field magnet, I'd probably still give it a try. When I unwound the broken field magnet, I got around 14 meters or 0.2mm enamelled wire. But as the forward and reverse coils have different resistances, I figured that they were wound on number of turns, not length of wire per direction.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by LoKoalaMotive
Offline Johnvr  
#4 Posted : 29 November 2019 16:23:11(UTC)
Johnvr

South Africa   
Joined: 03/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,153
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Hello

I have done the rewinding of the coils.
It's quite interesting actually to try it out.

My suggestion is to put the magnet part on its side in a vice grip to keep it steady, and wind it up by going around that with the coil. I am hoping that when you un-wound the coil that you coiled it onto a gadget with a similar circumference, from where you can wind it back onto the magnet.

You may be slightly disappointed at the results. I could never achieve the tightness of the coil winding by hand which a machine does very quickly.
But you will have satisfied a curiosity.

RegardsBigGrin
John
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Johnvr
Offline jvuye  
#5 Posted : 29 November 2019 23:41:39(UTC)
jvuye

Belgium   
Joined: 01/03/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,726
Location: South Western France
Originally Posted by: LoKoalaMotive Go to Quoted Post
Thanks for the prompt reply. Part of me wants to just get it running, another part would like to say "I did it" (like cookee_nz said almost 2 years ago). Even if I got it running, given that I have a dead field magnet, I'd probably still give it a try. When I unwound the broken field magnet, I got around 14 meters or 0.2mm enamelled wire. But as the forward and reverse coils have different resistances, I figured that they were wound on number of turns, not length of wire per direction.


Too bad you're so far away.
I have literally hundred of these in all the various sizes (from converting older locos to digital) that I could simply give you!
Jacques Vuye aka Dr.Eisenbahn
Once a vandal, learned to be better and had great success!
Offline jvuye  
#6 Posted : 29 November 2019 23:48:46(UTC)
jvuye

Belgium   
Joined: 01/03/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,726
Location: South Western France
Originally Posted by: Johnvr Go to Quoted Post
Hello

I have done the rewinding of the coils.
It's quite interesting actually to try it out.

My suggestion is to put the magnet part on its side in a vice grip to keep it steady, and wind it up by going around that with the coil. I am hoping that when you un-wound the coil that you coiled it onto a gadget with a similar circumference, from where you can wind it back onto the magnet.

You may be slightly disappointed at the results. I could never achieve the tightness of the coil winding by hand which a machine does very quickly.
But you will have satisfied a curiosity.

RegardsBigGrin
John


There is a somewhat easier way to do it, but it require you prepare a jig to mount the armature on.
This needs to allow the armature to be mounted on a chuck (better on a lathe, but could work with some effort on a slow dril.
If you have some Meccano bits left around, this would be a nice project to build with it
I actually did that about 50 years ago...and rewound the armature of my 1951 RSM 800. She is still running today.
Jacques Vuye aka Dr.Eisenbahn
Once a vandal, learned to be better and had great success!
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by jvuye
Offline LoKoalaMotive  
#7 Posted : 30 November 2019 00:18:46(UTC)
LoKoalaMotive

Australia   
Joined: 29/11/2019(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: New South Wales, Sydney
Originally Posted by: jvuye Go to Quoted Post
Too bad you're so far away.
I have literally hundred of these in all the various sizes (from converting older locos to digital) that I could simply give you!


Crying Too bad indeed. Just thinking of the number of upgrade kits sold, I'm sure there are HEAPS of parts available - just unreachable for me

Originally Posted by: jvuye Go to Quoted Post
I actually did that about 50 years ago...and rewound the armature of my 1951 RSM 800. She is still running today.

That's impressive - 50 years!!
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.434 seconds.