Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline ShannonN  
#1 Posted : 05 June 2019 13:21:09(UTC)
ShannonN

Australia   
Joined: 14/08/2016(UTC)
Posts: 433
Location: Maryborough, Qld
Hi all
I have 2 MS2 controllers and I am building two different shelf layouts. 1 is European in design running all my Marklin stuff.

1 will be American in design running 2 rail in DCC mode with a US style SD 40 digital loco. I need to know how to connect the MS2 for 2 rail operation, like which colour wire to use for left rail and which for right rail etc

Cheers Shanny

My Trains
EL Cheapo starter set stuff
Märklin 29752 Starter set Fire Brigade with diesel locomotive Henschel 500 x2
Märklin 29204 Starter set "American High speed train
Märklin 29163 Starter Set "My with Märklin" Loco BR 89
Märklin 29213 Starter set ICE NS Battery
Märklin 29202 Starter set "Belgian High-speed Rail
Märklin 29210 Starter set "Freight train"
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 05 June 2019 13:53:36(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,474
Location: DE-NW
Hi!
Originally Posted by: ShannonN Go to Quoted Post
like which colour wire to use for left rail and which for right rail etc
This does not matter with DCC or mfx or modern MM loco decoders.
Lift the loco, turn it around and you will have swapped "left" and "right" anyway.

Just make it consistent if you have more than one feeder track. Using red for the "right" rail can help in doing so.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by H0
Offline TEEWolf  
#3 Posted : 05 June 2019 17:18:27(UTC)
TEEWolf

Germany   
Joined: 01/06/2016(UTC)
Posts: 1,783
Originally Posted by: ShannonN Go to Quoted Post
Hi all
I have 2 MS2 controllers and I am building two different shelf layouts. 1 is European in design running all my Marklin stuff.

1 will be American in design running 2 rail in DCC mode with a US style SD 40 digital loco. I need to know how to connect the MS2 for 2 rail operation, like which colour wire to use for left rail and which for right rail etc

Cheers Shanny


You have 2 controllers - good, but do you have 2 track boxes as well? One for Märklin and one for Trix? Cabeling is identical. Red for Bahnstrom (= B) and brown for Masse (= 0)

And look into the manuals

http://medienpdb.maerkli...e-Station_Trix_DE_EN.pdf

https://static.maerklin....f3c36e4fb91557845024.pdf

(page 21 - but you have to update your MS 2 to software version 3.55 - this includes a update of your track boxes to vers 1.41)

For updating see this thread

https://www.marklin-user...-for-32-Function-support

This is more a general information

https://static.maerklin....57ac95a9a31493730041.pdf
CS 3 is a controller system from Märklin - not a central station.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by TEEWolf
Offline Goofy  
#4 Posted : 05 June 2019 17:49:17(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,004
You have two MS2?
The first can be use with mfx and the second only DCC protocol.
It´s enough to use just one box but the power feeder are maximum 36 VA which should handle about 3-4 digital locomotives with the sounds on.
DCC means Digital Command Control.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Goofy
Offline ShannonN  
#5 Posted : 05 June 2019 18:13:55(UTC)
ShannonN

Australia   
Joined: 14/08/2016(UTC)
Posts: 433
Location: Maryborough, Qld
Originally Posted by: TEEWolf Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: ShannonN Go to Quoted Post


You have 2 controllers - good, but do you have 2 track boxes as well? One for Märklin and one for Trix? Cabeling is identical. Red for Bahnstrom (= B) and brown for Masse (= 0)

And look into the manuals

http://medienpdb.maerkli...e-Station_Trix_DE_EN.pdf

https://static.maerklin....f3c36e4fb91557845024.pdf

(page 21 - but you have to update your MS 2 to software version 3.55 - this includes a update of your track boxes to vers 1.41)

For updating see this thread

https://www.marklin-user...-for-32-Function-support

This is more a general information

https://static.maerklin....57ac95a9a31493730041.pdf



Yes I have a Märklin track box for each, soon to be updated to latest version when I am down in Brisbane at the end of the month

My Trains
EL Cheapo starter set stuff
Märklin 29752 Starter set Fire Brigade with diesel locomotive Henschel 500 x2
Märklin 29204 Starter set "American High speed train
Märklin 29163 Starter Set "My with Märklin" Loco BR 89
Märklin 29213 Starter set ICE NS Battery
Märklin 29202 Starter set "Belgian High-speed Rail
Märklin 29210 Starter set "Freight train"
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.275 seconds.