Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages<12
Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline QQQ1970  
#51 Posted : 01 September 2019 20:43:32(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 166
Location: Ontario, Toronto
I unpacked the accessories kit. Can you spot what goes wrong? Sad

20190901_145921.jpg
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by QQQ1970
Offline JohnjeanB  
#52 Posted : 02 September 2019 11:48:02(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 555
Location: Paris, France
Hi

This crane is really beautiful, it belongs to era III (my favourite). I like the sound and details. Unfortunately a bit too costly for my wallet.
I have the Goliath one (yellow) without sound, era IV or V and huge (too much I think). The other difference is that crane rotation is much more prototypical (really slow) on the Goliath (IMO).
Cheers

Jean
My lay-out videos
latest vid
humping yard
Offline QQQ1970  
#53 Posted : 02 September 2019 14:13:41(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 166
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Jean, thanks for your kind words. I don't have the goliath so I can't compare. Judging from the size and construction, I suspect the goliath has higher lifting capacity. I recall that is rated at 250g but the steam crane is not rated.

Agree the fast crane rotation is a drawback and it is hard to align the crane with the centre axle.

I prefer era 3. I have a small setup and Ardelt 57t fits well from size standpoint.

Change gears. Still no one can spot what is wrong in the accessories kit?
Offline Swimmer  
#54 Posted : 02 September 2019 15:13:43(UTC)
Swimmer

South Africa   
Joined: 18/01/2016(UTC)
Posts: 32
Location: Centurion
Hi,

It looks like in the top row of the pallets, the third one from the left does not have a hole in it, or it is correct and the others have got holes in them.

Regards
Offline QQQ1970  
#55 Posted : 02 September 2019 15:25:01(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 166
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Bingo. That hole allows cylindrical magnets to pass to secure the crane support arm on the ground. Need to get a replacement from the factory.
Offline Mikael  
#56 Posted : 15 September 2019 14:04:26(UTC)
Mikael

Denmark   
Joined: 10/09/2004(UTC)
Posts: 949
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
A couple of weeks ago, I finally got my crane. I haven't had the time to have a look at it before today. It is beautiful to look at...... But unfortunately that is all the positive I can say about it. The crane is completely unresponsive on the tracks. It doesn't register itself as mfx should. It doesn't do anything when manually trying DCC or MM protocols.
To anyone with a working crane: Does it respond to reading CV registers? Because mine doesn't even react to that, except for a slight flickering of the lights when trying to read a CV.

This crane is the most expensive paperweight I've got to date.
Offline QQQ1970  
#57 Posted : 16 September 2019 09:51:52(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 166
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Mikael, as posted earlier by bph, there was a batch of cranes that had decoder issue and returned to factory. Yours may be among that batch and similarly inflicted.

When you remove the crane from the packaging and place it on the track for the initial registration, did you support the boom on the flat car?

Sebastian
Offline Mikael  
#58 Posted : 16 September 2019 16:59:55(UTC)
Mikael

Denmark   
Joined: 10/09/2004(UTC)
Posts: 949
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
Mikael, as posted earlier by bph, there was a batch of cranes that had decoder issue and returned to factory. Yours may be among that batch and similarly inflicted.

That may be. I returned it to my dealer today, and he couldn't get it to work either. While I was there, he also checked up on the service bulletins (or whatever they are called) from Märklin, and he couldn't find anything about known decoder issues with the crane, let alone any recalls.

Quote:
When you remove the crane from the packaging and place it on the track for the initial registration, did you support the boom on the flat car?

Yes I did.
Offline QQQ1970  
#59 Posted : 17 September 2019 06:56:14(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 166
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Sounds like your crane is a dud. I would have thought your dealer would test the crane before delivery.
Offline Mikael  
#60 Posted : 17 September 2019 16:15:34(UTC)
Mikael

Denmark   
Joined: 10/09/2004(UTC)
Posts: 949
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
I would have thought your dealer would test the crane before delivery.

Nope. I got it completely untouched and still sealed in its box.
Offline QQQ1970  
#61 Posted : 17 September 2019 18:48:46(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 166
Location: Ontario, Toronto
My dealer tested the crane with me together for 1.5h before I took delivery.
Online xxup  
#62 Posted : 17 September 2019 23:19:01(UTC)
xxup

Australia   
Joined: 15/03/2003(UTC)
Posts: 8,944
Location: Australia
Some years ago, I asked my dealer why he did not test locos etc before they were delivered to his customers. His response was that feedback from customers was that they preferred that their boxes were not opened before delivery. In the past twenty plus years, he has only had a handful of "dead on arrival" locos.

In other words, the likelihood of failure is very low and the consequent cost of freight returns is not an impact on his bottom line - my thoughts not his.. Smile
Adrian
UserPostedImage
Australia flag by abFlags.com
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by xxup
Offline dickinsonj  
#63 Posted : 18 September 2019 01:35:44(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: Mikael Go to Quoted Post

Nope. I got it completely untouched and still sealed in its box.

I have one option to have a dealer check out my models before they are shipped to me, but he is in Canada and I live in the US, so the costs are too high.

Mine all come straight out of the shrink wrap now and I just cross my fingers and hope. My 49570 looks lovely but has not yet been powered, and it looks like I need to find the time to do that soon. I will post what I find.
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
Offline QQQ1970  
#64 Posted : 27 September 2019 01:08:19(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 166
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Glad to hear your crane has finally arrived
Offline dickinsonj  
#65 Posted : 28 September 2019 02:02:56(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
Glad to hear your crane has finally arrived

Thanks! I hope to test it out soon, although layout running is months away for me.

So just registering it and watching it put on its show should be pretty cool for starters. Cool

assuming that it actually works at all of course, which is not always the case. ThumbDown

We have some killer heat coming about midweek - sounds like a good time for the old timer to stay indoors and just meddle about with his trains. BigGrin
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
Offline QQQ1970  
#66 Posted : 28 September 2019 09:25:20(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 166
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Originally Posted by: Phascolarctos Go to Quoted Post
QQQ1970: Marklin has not yet produced that model. A suitable model was produced by Roco as a "Gueterzugbegleitwagen" (=caboose). It has the correct era 3 color (dark green), although not the respective lettering. But you wouldn't notice once a few feet away... I have added two (Fleischmann and Brawa) green covered vans, a gondola to carry the coal and a tank wagon for water to complete the train. My favorite locomotive is either the BR 94 (Maerklin) or BR 82 (Piko) tank loco.

Cheers, Phascolarctos


I spoke with Marklin product manager Karl-Heinz Gräßle at IMA and expressed my wish to see a complementary car set for the steam crane, like coal car and water tender, crew car, etc. He acknowledged the production issue and my points and maybe we see something in 2020 or 2021 new items.

Sebastian
Offline QQQ1970  
#67 Posted : 05 October 2019 13:44:00(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 166
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Originally Posted by: dickinsonj Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
Glad to hear your crane has finally arrived

Thanks! I hope to test it out soon, although layout running is months away for me.

So just registering it and watching it put on its show should be pretty cool for starters. Cool

assuming that it actually works at all of course, which is not always the case. ThumbDown

We have some killer heat coming about midweek - sounds like a good time for the old timer to stay indoors and just meddle about with his trains. BigGrin


So does it work ok?
Offline dickinsonj  
#68 Posted : 07 October 2019 01:34:43(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post

So does it work ok?


Man, you are making me look bad. BigGrin

Unfortunately it is still not tested but at least there is slight progress. Just today I cleaned up the room where I assemble my trains and track and I really do intend to check it out very soon. Of course I am also completing the finish carpentry in our just remodeled kitchen, including insulating and trimming out a new exterior door before cold weather arrives. So I remain under pretty tough time pressure but I am nearly ready to get my CS2 and stuff set up in a test/programming environment, for a number of needs.

The very first task will be to test out that crane. Stay tuned. Cool
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
Offline dickinsonj  
#69 Posted : 09 October 2019 01:37:41(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
So does it work ok?


The short answer is yes. It registered perfectly and all of the functions appear to work correctly, so I don't have the problems that some have had.

My biggest complaint is the same as yours if I remember correctly, in that the crane body rotates too quickly and can't be stopped precisely. I have tried several times and I can not get it lined up properly with the frame of the crane. It is close enough and probably would run on my track with the lateral play in the boom. It sure would make it tough to do any work with it though and so far none of the parameters seem to change that behavior.

The CVs are actually pretty strange. They list acceleration and braking delay as well as maximum speed, but changing them does not seem to affect the motor operation and they really don't make a lot of sense. The boom raise/lower speed is good, as is moving the hook, but not the body rotation. I suppose they might have set separate constraints on the three motion functions and maybe I will eventually load the program for that decoder up in my programming environment and take a look. Unfortunately even if I can find a way to alter this behavior the chip might be locked, making it difficult to change things. I do know some tricks to bypass the locks but they are not for the faint of heart. BigGrin

Then there is the obvious one, which Märklin calls out in their literature. The hook, to be correctly sized, does not have enough weight to lower by itself when you slack that cable. Not only does that prevent totally remote operation but it seems like a great way to screw up your lines if you are not careful. The next time I run it I will try hanging something heavy on the hook and see if that does the trick. I went back to the videos I watched before buying and I now see that they never show several of the more problematic operations and now I know why.ThumbDown

I operated it briefly without the outriggers deployed and found that not to be a good idea. I will set those up properly before I use it again. I do not see it spending too much time running on my layout, but rather staged where it can do its thing, at least as far as it is able. I have always wanted a crane that I could remotely operate and maybe that is just too much to ask in HO scale. More and more I am thinking that I need a lot less MRR stuff but really quality models in 1 gauge. But I have a considerable investment in HO and it would really cost me to change now. Still I do think about that from time to time. Cool
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by dickinsonj
Offline QQQ1970  
#70 Posted : 09 October 2019 21:52:40(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 166
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Thanks for your comprehensive report. By and large your observation align with other owners. The crane rotation is a design flaw in my view. My experience is if you lower the hook slowly, it doesn't slack the lines. I'd say the lines are not strong enough to support loads.
Offline dickinsonj  
#71 Posted : 10 October 2019 01:16:08(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
Thanks for your comprehensive report. By and large your observation align with other owners. The crane rotation is a design flaw in my view. My experience is if you lower the hook slowly, it doesn't slack the lines. I'd say the lines are not strong enough to support loads.


Yes, the rotation speed is clearly a design flaw and compromises the actual use of this model. I have only briefly tested it but I had one instance where I could hear the hook line unspooling and not only didn't the hook lower it wouldn't budge even when I tugged on it. Not sure what was going on but the next time I test it I will have the boom raised enough that I can observe what is happening.

That is an interesting observation about the lines not being able to support loads. If that is true then none of the other issues matter because you couldn't really operate it anyway. Märklin does not really specify what a reasonable lifting capacity is for this crane, but perhaps they should.

So if it does not run well on the layout and can't actually lift things, I have to wonder what purpose it serves beyond sitting around in a yard and looking pretty. It is indeed very pretty but quite a lot of money for a paperweight.

I held out on the Goliath crane because of the many people with issues and by the time I finally decided to jump in they were all sold at the dealers I use. I really should have waited longer to see what people thought of this one, but I guess that I finally have buying a Märklin crane checked off and I doubt that I will be tempted again.
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
Offline JohnjeanB  
#72 Posted : 10 October 2019 14:21:06(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 555
Location: Paris, France
Hi Jim
IMO the Goliath crane works very well, can lift wagons and very small locos They also have no riding issues
The only negative thing is they are huge and yellow
Cheers
Jean
My lay-out videos
latest vid
humping yard
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Offline QQQ1970  
#73 Posted : 10 October 2019 14:41:08(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 166
Location: Ontario, Toronto
I don't have Goliath, but judging from videos their lines look tougher than the one on Ardelt. I wonder why that is the case. I could be wrong. That said I was able to lift loads with the Ardelt and it works well so don't despair. You just need to be careful when operating it.

Given the relative size, I have no illusion it won't have the same load capacity as the Goliath.
Offline dickinsonj  
#74 Posted : 11 October 2019 02:00:47(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post
Hi Jim
IMO the Goliath crane works very well, can lift wagons and very small locos They also have no riding issues
The only negative thing is they are huge and yellow
Cheers
Jean


Thanks - I did actually order one that was listed on dealer's website, after confirming its availability but was told that it had sold earlier that day. So close and it does not look like the Ardelt is anything but a curiosity to me right now.
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
Offline dickinsonj  
#75 Posted : 11 October 2019 02:03:42(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
I don't have Goliath, but judging from videos their lines look tougher than the one on Ardelt. I wonder why that is the case. I could be wrong. That said I was able to lift loads with the Ardelt and it works well so don't despair. You just need to be careful when operating it.

Given the relative size, I have no illusion it won't have the same load capacity as the Goliath.


Thanks for the encouragement. I will give it another go fairly soon. But I just don't see it being used much because it takes so much manual intervention and fiddling, which was not what I was looking for.

It will at the very least be a pretty addition to my layout and probably cause less frustration the fewer times I try to actually use it. ThumpUp
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by dickinsonj
Offline mrmarklin  
#76 Posted : 13 October 2019 17:52:30(UTC)
mrmarklin

United States   
Joined: 27/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 773
Location: Burney, CA
Originally Posted by: dickinsonj Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
I don't have Goliath, but judging from videos their lines look tougher than the one on Ardelt. I wonder why that is the case. I could be wrong. That said I was able to lift loads with the Ardelt and it works well so don't despair. You just need to be careful when operating it.

Given the relative size, I have no illusion it won't have the same load capacity as the Goliath.


Thanks for the encouragement. I will give it another go fairly soon. But I just don't see it being used much because it takes so much manual intervention and fiddling, which was not what I was looking for.

It will at the very least be a pretty addition to my layout and probably cause less frustration the fewer times I try to actually use it. ThumpUp


In real life is one sees this type of equipment only on sidings. If it is being used, one is usually routed around it!BigGrin

So don’t worry about ever actually using it!
From the People's Republik of Kalifornia
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by mrmarklin
Offline Rwill  
#77 Posted : 13 October 2019 18:07:09(UTC)
Rwill

United Kingdom   
Joined: 04/05/2015(UTC)
Posts: 547
Location: England, London
Originally Posted by: mrmarklin Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: dickinsonj Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
I don't have Goliath, but judging from videos their lines look tougher than the one on Ardelt. I wonder why that is the case. I could be wrong. That said I was able to lift loads with the Ardelt and it works well so don't despair. You just need to be careful when operating it.

Given the relative size, I have no illusion it won't have the same load capacity as the Goliath.


Thanks for the encouragement. I will give it another go fairly soon. But I just don't see it being used much because it takes so much manual intervention and fiddling, which was not what I was looking for.

It will at the very least be a pretty addition to my layout and probably cause less frustration the fewer times I try to actually use it. ThumpUp


In real life is one sees this type of equipment only on sidings. If it is being used, one is usually routed around it!BigGrin

So don’t worry about ever actually using it!


Thank heavens for that then my Fleischmann set from the1980/90s with two rail wheels which tends to not like any turnout on earth which was rescued from the remainder bin in Beatties model rail shop in London for about £40 for the four car set never leaves it siding so it is strangely prototypical. Not sure I would feel the same way if I was 900 Euros poorer!

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Rwill
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
2 Pages<12
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.509 seconds.