Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline 57vert  
#1 Posted : 07 February 2019 17:28:25(UTC)
57vert

United States   
Hi,

I'm new to train modeling, the forum and Marklin trains. I am starting to buy items to put my track together. I really enjoy the older trains from the 50's and maybe early 60's?. I especially like the old-timer metal cars.

Based on the color of the boxes, can the approximate year of the car be determined, assuming it is the original box?

When did plastic start to be introduced into the cars?

I'm sure you all know what I mean, but I've attached some examples of boxes that I pulled from a certain auction site.marklin red diamond box.jpgmarklin breen box.jpgmarklin blue boxes.jpgmarklin red box.jpg
Offline mbarreto  
#2 Posted : 07 February 2019 17:46:52(UTC)
mbarreto

Portugal   

Welcome to the forum!

You hve this site in german language that gives a good idea about the years of the different bxes:

http://www.maerklinist.d...artons/frame-kartons.htm

Regards,
Miguel
Best regards,
Miguel
Mostly Märklin H0.

thanks 5 users liked this useful post by mbarreto
Offline 57vert  
#3 Posted : 07 February 2019 18:55:56(UTC)
57vert

United States   
Originally Posted by: mbarreto Go to Quoted Post

Welcome to the forum!

You hve this site in german language that gives a good idea about the years of the different bxes:

http://www.maerklinist.d...artons/frame-kartons.htm

Regards,
Miguel

Thank you so much. I don't speak German, haha, but it is understandable nonetheless.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by 57vert
Offline ktsolias  
#4 Posted : 07 February 2019 23:10:21(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Hi

Many boxes in the fifties and all in the sixties and after have the date (month - year) on the serial no something like this

xx xxx YY 03 68 yy that means March 1968 (x = numbers, y = letters)