Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline river6109  
#1 Posted : 07 March 2017 09:35:44(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 13,731
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
I bought this Märklin SBB loco 36627 with a sound decoder but for some odd reason I can only get 4 functions from it, why is this (using an ESU lokprogrammer) with the decoder no. 24. I haven't tried it with my ECoS

regards.,

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline RayF  
#2 Posted : 07 March 2017 11:10:26(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,770
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Going to show my ignorance here... Should the ESU lokprogrammer work on Marklin decoders?
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline river6109  
#3 Posted : 07 March 2017 11:25:16(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 13,731
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Originally Posted by: RayF Go to Quoted Post
Going to show my ignorance here... Should the ESU lokprogrammer work on Marklin decoders?


Ray, you can't program or read the decoder but you can enter the decoder number (24), select motorola, lights and the first 4 functions work.
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline RayF  
#4 Posted : 07 March 2017 11:48:31(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,770
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Originally Posted by: river6109 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: RayF Go to Quoted Post
Going to show my ignorance here... Should the ESU lokprogrammer work on Marklin decoders?


Ray, you can't program or read the decoder but you can enter the decoder number (24), select motorola, lights and the first 4 functions work.


OK, I see now.

Perhaps it is because you have to run it in motorola mode that you only see the first 4 functions. Do you have the option to try the other functions using the next motorola address like I used to do on my 6021?

I would imagine that your Ecos will register it as mfx and allow the use of all functions.
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline river6109  
#5 Posted : 07 March 2017 14:05:49(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 13,731
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Originally Posted by: RayF Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: river6109 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: RayF Go to Quoted Post
Going to show my ignorance here... Should the ESU lokprogrammer work on Marklin decoders?


Ray, you can't program or read the decoder but you can enter the decoder number (24), select motorola, lights and the first 4 functions work.


OK, I see now.

Perhaps it is because you have to run it in motorola mode that you only see the first 4 functions. Do you have the option to try the other functions using the next motorola address like I used to do on my 6021?

I would imagine that your Ecos will register it as mfx and allow the use of all functions.


its a bit odd, it shows 16 functions so they should be available but as you said most probably the ECoS will pick them up, I don't have any Märklin sound decoders and this is the first one I've got supplied with the loco. just have to set up my ECoS again and see what is happening.
I've just realized what you've said using the next address and so on, will try it, never entered my mind, tried it but no respond

I also added more led's, very tiny ones, 0402, cant hardly see them, used resistors and successfully soldered the leds onto the front circuit board, this should enable me to use a high beam and I may tinker with the Swiss lighting schematic but this will be a bit risky and i think I leave it as it is however i will purchase another 2 axles with rubber tyres and this gives the loco 4 rubber tyres over 4 axles

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Online H0  
#6 Posted : 07 March 2017 14:21:23(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,258
Location: DE-NW
Hi!

The ESU LokProgrammer can program any DCC decoder that supports CV programming. Märklin locos normally have DCC disabled in the decoder.

The second address typically is 255 (for F5 through F8). The other addresses default to 254 (F9 through F12) and 253 (F13 through F16), but in most cases only 2 addresses are active.

IIRC the LokProgrammer shows F0 through F28, but for MM addresses only F0 through F4 are supported (a protocol limitation).

It's definitely worth trying address 255 and playing with F1 through F4 for this address.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by H0
Offline river6109  
#7 Posted : 07 March 2017 16:34:25(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 13,731
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
thanks for this Tom, unfortunately nothing has worked, under the mobile station 1 I've got 7 functions per instruction booklet but this is it. it registers under mfx I've added 2 more leds with resistors but I don't seem to be able to activate them even with mobile station, suppose this is the drawback buying Märklin sound decoders you can't alter them or activate aux functions.

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Online H0  
#8 Posted : 07 March 2017 16:56:48(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,258
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: river6109 Go to Quoted Post
suppose this is the drawback buying Märklin sound decoders you can't alter them or activate aux functions.
You can alter them with a Central Station or ECoS, but not with a Mobile Station or CU 6021 or Intellibox.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by H0
Offline dickinsonj  
#9 Posted : 10 March 2017 03:43:20(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,444
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: river6109 Go to Quoted Post
suppose this is the drawback buying Märklin sound decoders you can't alter them or activate aux functions.
You can alter them with a Central Station or ECoS, but not with a Mobile Station or CU 6021 or Intellibox.

Alternatively you can update the sound files and alter the CVs for Märklin sound decoders with a 60971 decoder programmer, although that does require removing the decoder from the Loco.

Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
Offline mike c  
#10 Posted : 11 March 2017 03:12:49(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Joined: 28/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 7,207
Location: Montreal, QC
Originally Posted by: river6109 Go to Quoted Post
I bought this Märklin SBB loco 36627 with a sound decoder but for some odd reason I can only get 4 functions from it, why is this (using an ESU lokprogrammer) with the decoder no. 24. I haven't tried it with my ECoS

regards.,

John


You can't change the settings with the ESU Lokprogrammer. If you set the unit to test bench, you can activate the various functions. You first have to select the system. In MM, you can only access settings Function, F1-F4. In DCC, you can access many more. The 36627 probably works with MM and MFX. I don't know if it understands DCC, so you would have to have a Lokprogrammer that understands MFX.

Regards

Mike C
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by mike c
Offline river6109  
#11 Posted : 11 March 2017 05:39:38(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 13,731
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Originally Posted by: mike c Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: river6109 Go to Quoted Post
I bought this Märklin SBB loco 36627 with a sound decoder but for some odd reason I can only get 4 functions from it, why is this (using an ESU lokprogrammer) with the decoder no. 24. I haven't tried it with my ECoS

regards.,

John


You can't change the settings with the ESU Lokprogrammer. If you set the unit to test bench, you can activate the various functions. You first have to select the system. In MM, you can only access settings Function, F1-F4. In DCC, you can access many more. The 36627 probably works with MM and MFX. I don't know if it understands DCC, so you would have to have a Lokprogrammer that understands MFX.

Regards

Mike C


Mike I thought this as well, when I get my ECoS fired up I'll see what happens there,

John

https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline river6109  
#12 Posted : 24 March 2017 09:07:14(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 13,731
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Hi, nothing happened with my ECOS, it has to be motorola mode and this restricts it to 4 functions, couldn't program it sofar except the decoder address haven't tried the others CV's.

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Similar Topics
Märklin sound decoder sets 60948/60949 (Digital components and Software reviews)
by H0 04/08/2013 23:22:37(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.490 seconds.