Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Moritz-BR365  
#1 Posted : 03 June 2015 08:41:49(UTC)
Moritz-BR365

Germany   
Joined: 02/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 682
Hello,
for a friend I replaced the standard fx decoder of the Ludmilla with the Hobby mSD sound decoder set. The mtc21 adapter bord is ready to connect a buffer capacitor which is very usefull for this loco. There is plenty of space inside the loco. I decided to use a 1.200µF capacitor and glued it directly under the roof.

I realized, that the distance of the two connectors is the same like the distance between three connectors of the pin connectors, I bought in the past. Therefore, it is very easy: Just cut the connectors of the capacitor in the correct length and prepare a connector on the cables. Now You can plug the connector directly onto the capacitor.

UserPostedImage

As always, I used the standard charging circuit, which is fitted into the black shrinking hose:

UserPostedImage

The loco drives very smooth and without stutter on my test M-rail.

Edited by user 04 June 2015 08:47:21(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 4 users liked this useful post by Moritz-BR365
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#2 Posted : 03 June 2015 11:21:47(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,002
Location: New Zealand
Thanks Moritz. What is the value of R1, and is D1 a common diode such as a 1N4001?

1.2µF seems an unusual value, my local electronics store only seem to list a 1.0µF then a 2.2µF electrolytic capacitors.
Offline Moritz-BR365  
#3 Posted : 03 June 2015 11:24:54(UTC)
Moritz-BR365

Germany   
Joined: 02/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 682
Next, I will test the Doehner&Haass SD21A-4 Sound decoder with the Ludmilla sound from Matthias Henning in this loco. I will create a video with this sound project. Stay tuned!
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Moritz-BR365
Offline Moritz-BR365  
#4 Posted : 03 June 2015 11:30:46(UTC)
Moritz-BR365

Germany   
Joined: 02/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 682
Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post
Thanks Moritz. What is the value of R1, and is D1 a common diode such as a 1N4001?

1.2µF seems an unusual value, my local electronics store only seem to list a 1.0µF then a 2.2µF electrolytic capacitors.


Hello,
R1 = 100 Ohm
D1 = SB140 (Schottky Diode)

A schottky diode is preferred, because the reverse voltage is only ~0.5V, a 1N4001 has a reverse voltage of ~1.0V.

The capacitor has a capacity of 1.200µF, not 1.2µF.

Greetings, Moritz
Offline Moritz-BR365  
#5 Posted : 03 June 2015 20:30:51(UTC)
Moritz-BR365

Germany   
Joined: 02/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 682
thanks 5 users liked this useful post by Moritz-BR365
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#6 Posted : 03 June 2015 22:44:37(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,002
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: Moritz-BR365 Go to Quoted Post
The capacitor has a capacity of 1.200µF, not 1.2µF.


Hmmm, must be a European decimal notation thing.....

Here in NZ, 1.200 and 1.2 means the same thing - it is all to do with where the decimal point is.

However, I see that in Europe they use the decimal point "." as the thousands separator, whereas we would use the comma "," as the thousands separator.

So, here in NZ (and Australia, the UK and US) 1200 is expressed as 1,200. In Europe, it seems they would use 1.200. And to make things even more weird, Europe uses the comma where we would use a decimal point - €123.45 is expressed in Europe as €123,45.

Confused Confused Confused

Anyway, I have the same problem with the local electronics supplier - no 1200µF capacitors, only 1000µF or 2200µF.

However, an online supplier such as Element14 (formerly Pharnell) have them....

http://nz.element14.com/...ts=true&pf=110095704
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline Moritz-BR365  
#7 Posted : 03 June 2015 23:33:57(UTC)
Moritz-BR365

Germany   
Joined: 02/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 682
Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post

So, here in NZ (and Australia, the UK and US) 1200 is expressed as 1,200. In Europe, it seems they would use 1.200. And to make things even more weird, Europe uses the comma where we would use a decimal point - €123.45 is expressed in Europe as €123,45.

Confused Confused Confused

Yes, it is confused!

Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post

Anyway, I have the same problem with the local electronics supplier - no 1200µF capacitors, only 1000µF or 2200µF.


1000µF is as good as 1200µF, or better if there is enough space available, 2200µF or 1800µF.

Important, it should be at least 25V versions, better 35V!

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Moritz-BR365
Offline biedmatt  
#8 Posted : 03 June 2015 23:39:52(UTC)
biedmatt

United States   
Joined: 09/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,343
Location: Southwest Ohio
Originally Posted by: Moritz-BR365 Go to Quoted Post


The capacitor has a capacity of 1.200µF, not 1.2µF.

Greetings, Moritz


Comma or decimal isn't the problem. The problem is the decimal is used as two separate meanings in the same sentence. Once to make reading a four digit number easier and again to show a fractional value. That is what is confusing. Had one or the other been a comma, we'd have understood.
Matt
Era 3
DB lokos, coaches and freight cars from across Europe
But I do have the obligatory (six) SBB Krocs
ECoS 50200, all FX and MFX decoders replaced with ESU V4s, operated in DCC-RailCom+ with ABC brake control.
With the exception of the passenger wagens with Marklin current conducting couplers, all close couplers have been replaced with Roco 40397.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by biedmatt
Offline Moritz-BR365  
#9 Posted : 04 June 2015 07:51:59(UTC)
Moritz-BR365

Germany   
Joined: 02/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 682
Originally Posted by: biedmatt Go to Quoted Post
Comma or decimal isn't the problem. The problem is the decimal is used as two separate meanings in the same sentence. Once to make reading a four digit number easier and again to show a fractional value. That is what is confusing. Had one or the other been a comma, we'd have understood.


???

There is only one value given:

Quote:
for a friend I replaced the standard fx decoder of the Ludmilla with the Hobby mSD sound decoder set. The mtc21 adapter bord is ready to connect a buffer capacitor which is very usefull for this loco. There is plenty of space inside the loco. I decided to use a 1.200µF capacitor and glued it directly under the roof.


And, yes, we use in germany often a wrong notation.

For technical values, You can read 1.2µF or e.g. 15.2mH. But, it is not misunderstandable, because:

If You want to say 1200€ then You could say 1.200€ or 1.2k€ (correct euopean notation would be 1,2k€). But 1.2€ is never a short form of 1,2k€!

Or, in general notation:

1,000,000.00 (US, UK)
1.000.000,00 (European)
1.000.000.00 (wrong European, mix of US and European notation)

But what about the Doehler&Haass Ludmilla sound?
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Moritz-BR365
Offline Modelleisenbahnfan  
#10 Posted : 04 June 2015 10:02:35(UTC)
Modelleisenbahnfan

Germany   
Joined: 06/03/2015(UTC)
Posts: 52
Hello Moritz,

I don't know the Sound of the prototype, but I find the Sound realistic. One can hear clearly that it is a diesel electric locomotive.
The additional features as the conductor whistle or the horn are also very good, I think.

Perhaps, you could improve the driving characteristics, so the loco starts smoother respectively has a minor speed in running step one.

kind regards

Robert

P.S.: What is a Kilo-Euro (k€)?
If you all want to be clear, why don't you write out the figures?Smile In this case it would be: one thousand two hundret if I have well understood.
Märklin, what else?
Offline Moritz-BR365  
#11 Posted : 04 June 2015 10:11:07(UTC)
Moritz-BR365

Germany   
Joined: 02/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 682
Originally Posted by: Modelleisenbahnfan Go to Quoted Post

Perhaps, you could improve the driving characteristics, so the loco starts smoother respectively has a minor speed in running step one.

Yes, I will spend a bit more time for fine tuning, but the speed in FS1 is really very slow. You can see in the middle of the video.

Originally Posted by: Modelleisenbahnfan Go to Quoted Post
P.S.: What is a Kilo-Euro (k€)?

It is a common way to shorten a value bigger then 1000 with the short cut "k":

1000 m/h = 1km/h
1000 € = 1k€

Many people think, that "k" is a short cut for kilogramm, but that's wrong. "k" says "* 1000". When You are told to buy 1k apples, You should buy 1000 apples, not only 1kg!
Offline Modelleisenbahnfan  
#12 Posted : 04 June 2015 10:24:42(UTC)
Modelleisenbahnfan

Germany   
Joined: 06/03/2015(UTC)
Posts: 52
Hi Moritz,

of course I know that the "k" stand for the factor thousand, but I have never seen it in connection with Euro.
Commonly, it's used for example in connection with Newton (kN), Gramm (kg), Bytes (KB) and so on.

kind regards

Robert
Märklin, what else?
Offline Moritz-BR365  
#13 Posted : 04 June 2015 10:33:10(UTC)
Moritz-BR365

Germany   
Joined: 02/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 682
Originally Posted by: Modelleisenbahnfan Go to Quoted Post
of course I know that the "k" stand for the factor thousand, but I have never seen it in connection with Euro.

In business areas it is avery common to use k or M for thousand or million:

10k€
50M€

You may have a look into the balance sheet of big companies, You will find it there. I use it therefore also very often, because our calculations are done in k€, too.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Moritz-BR365
Offline Goofy  
#14 Posted : 06 June 2015 09:14:21(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,438
Originally Posted by: Moritz-BR365 Go to Quoted Post
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gv5aL1b42FQ


Is it same sound volume in all functions,like Märklins?
Or is it adjustable of the volume with difference functions?
CS3...H0...
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Goofy
Offline Moritz-BR365  
#15 Posted : 06 June 2015 12:31:09(UTC)
Moritz-BR365

Germany   
Joined: 02/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 682
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Moritz-BR365 Go to Quoted Post
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gv5aL1b42FQ


Is it same sound volume in all functions,like Märklins?
Or is it adjustable of the volume with difference functions?


Hello,
the sound volume is adjustable for each sound slot seperately. You can do this by POM, so it's very comfortable to adjust and test until it fits Your needs.

CV 330 Gesamtlautstärke
CV 331 Lautstärke Fahrgeräusch
CV 332 Lautstärke Nebengeräusch
CV 333 Lautstärke Schaltgeräusch
CV 334 Lautstärke Bremsgeräusch
CV 335 Lautstärke Soundablauf 3
CV 336 Lautstärke Soundablauf 4
CV 337 Lautstärke Soundablauf 5
CV 338 Lautstärke Soundablauf 6
CV 339 Lautstärke Soundablauf 7
CV 340 Lautstärke Soundablauf 8
CV 341 Lautstärke Soundablauf 9
CV 342 Lautstärke Soundablauf 10
CV 343 Lautstärke Soundablauf 11
CV 344 Lautstärke Soundablauf 12
CV 345 Lautstärke Soundablauf 13
CV 346 Lautstärke Soundablauf 14
CV 347 Lautstärke Soundablauf 15
CV 348 Lautstärke Soundablauf 16
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.654 seconds.