Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Mike M  
#1 Posted : 27 August 2013 18:09:26(UTC)
Mike M

Canada   
Joined: 01/01/2013(UTC)
Posts: 155
Location: Victoria B.C.
Hi,

Does the wire from the S88 module get connected to the contact track(24995) on the "B" or the "O: terminal??

Do I need both tracks for one contact area? (Instructions show 2 pieces)
Offline Mike M  
#2 Posted : 27 August 2013 21:10:44(UTC)
Mike M

Canada   
Joined: 01/01/2013(UTC)
Posts: 155
Location: Victoria B.C.
Originally Posted by: Mike M Go to Quoted Post
Hi,

Does the wire from the S88 module get connected to the contact track(24995) on the "B" or the "O: terminal??

Do I need both tracks for one contact area? (Instructions show 2 pieces)




Does anybody out there have an answer to this question ???????????????????????


Cheers

Offline waorb  
#3 Posted : 27 August 2013 21:48:59(UTC)
waorb

Brazil   
Joined: 31/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 866
Location: Brazil
Originally Posted by: Mike M Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Mike M Go to Quoted Post
Hi,

Does the wire from the S88 module get connected to the contact track(24995) on the "B" or the "O: terminal??
Do I need both tracks for one contact area? (Instructions show 2 pieces)


Does anybody out there have an answer to this question ???????????????????????

Cheers

Hey! Come down! Flapper

Sometimes you only receive answers from guys around the world... far-away of your longitude... BigGrin BigGrin

Well, contact tracks need to be connected to the "O" terminal (ground of the track). NEVER on "B"!!! "B" is from Bahn in german, or the positive middle rail.
Always should be connected on the outer rails...

http://medienpdb.maerkli.../1/pdf/24995_betrieb.pdf

Regards,

Walter

ps. the cheapest way to create contacts-tracks is to pickup your existing tracks, cutting the metal above, and insulate the terminals; your rolling stocks do the rest.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by waorb
Offline Mike M  
#4 Posted : 27 August 2013 23:12:39(UTC)
Mike M

Canada   
Joined: 01/01/2013(UTC)
Posts: 155
Location: Victoria B.C.
Originally Posted by: waorb Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Mike M Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Mike M Go to Quoted Post
Hi,

Does the wire from the S88 module get connected to the contact track(24995) on the "B" or the "O: terminal??
Do I need both tracks for one contact area? (Instructions show 2 pieces)


Does anybody out there have an answer to this question ???????????????????????

Cheers

Hey! Come down! Flapper

Sometimes you only receive answers from guys around the world... far-away of your longitude... BigGrin BigGrin

Well, contact tracks need to be connected to the "O" terminal (ground of the track). NEVER on "B"!!! "B" is from Bahn in german, or the positive middle rail.
Always should be connected on the outer rails...

http://medienpdb.maerkli.../1/pdf/24995_betrieb.pdf

Regards,

Walter

ps. the cheapest way to create contacts-tracks is to pickup your existing tracks, cutting the metal above, and insulate the terminals; your rolling stocks do the rest.


I'ts calm down, But it was not meant to be nasty That's why it was bold italics LOL

Cheers Mike
Offline waorb  
#5 Posted : 28 August 2013 04:06:51(UTC)
waorb

Brazil   
Joined: 31/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 866
Location: Brazil
Originally Posted by: Mike M Go to Quoted Post

I'ts calm down, But it was not meant to be nasty That's why it was bold italics LOL
Cheers Mike

Cool no regrets! LOL

The question is: your question was answered? Smile

Regards,

Walter
Offline Mike M  
#6 Posted : 28 August 2013 06:11:05(UTC)
Mike M

Canada   
Joined: 01/01/2013(UTC)
Posts: 155
Location: Victoria B.C.
Originally Posted by: waorb Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Mike M Go to Quoted Post

I'ts calm down, But it was not meant to be nasty That's why it was bold italics LOL
Cheers Mike

Cool no regrets! LOL

The question is: your question was answered? Smile

Regards,

Walter


Half of my question was answered. Curious about the link you attached,it is not opening??
Offline H0  
#7 Posted : 28 August 2013 08:24:13(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,146
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: Mike M Go to Quoted Post
Curious about the link you attached,it is not opening??
Mother M* doesn't allow direct links to her PDF files.

Copy URL to the address field of your browser:
Code:
http://medienpdb.maerklin.de/product_files/1/pdf/24995_betrieb.pdf


When using a pair of 24995 you don't have to use the 74030 insulator caps.
When you do it as Walter suggests, you don't need 24995 - instead you need a pair of 74030. No visible marks on the tracks and can be used between any pieces of track.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by H0
Offline Mike M  
#8 Posted : 28 August 2013 17:23:20(UTC)
Mike M

Canada   
Joined: 01/01/2013(UTC)
Posts: 155
Location: Victoria B.C.
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Mike M Go to Quoted Post
Curious about the link you attached,it is not opening??
Mother M* doesn't allow direct links to her PDF files.

Copy URL to the address field of your browser:
Code:
http://medienpdb.maerklin.de/product_files/1/pdf/24995_betrieb.pdf


When using a pair of 24995 you don't have to use the 74030 insulator caps.
When you do it as Walter suggests, you don't need 24995 - instead you need a pair of 74030. No visible marks on the tracks and can be used between any pieces of track.


You mention using a pair of 24995 does that mean 2 for each siding on my shadow line? plan attached
Offline H0  
#9 Posted : 28 August 2013 18:52:37(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,146
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: Mike M Go to Quoted Post
You mention using a pair of 24995 does that mean 2 for each siding on my shadow line?
The 24995 is a 24094 with a cut in one rail:
http://www.lokshow.com/s...terial/bilder/24995b.jpg

For a contact track, you need two cuts in the rail (start and end).
With normal tracks and 74030, you have more flexibility (any lengths can be used) and it gets cheaper.

For two adjacent contact tracks, three pieces of 24995 can be used - or four for three adjacent contact tracks.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by H0
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.486 seconds.