Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Enebakk  
#1 Posted : 03 September 2009 01:07:38(UTC)
Enebakk

Hi,

I have an analog train that I'll like to convert to a digital train. I have never done this before, but beeing a techie I've got no problems jumping into it.
But, where do I start? Are there convertion sets I can use or am I better of doing this step by step buying individual parts?

I hope anybody out there has done something like this and can give me a bundle of good advice.

Johnnybiggrin
Offline intruder  
#2 Posted : 03 September 2009 01:36:04(UTC)
intruder

Norway   
Hi, Johnny.

Somebody will soon wake up and tell you, but in the meantime you can find many examples of different conversions on my website.

As far as I know, the 3060 has a <s>Large Flat Commutator Motor (LFCM)</s> Drum Commutator Motor (DCM), so Märklin conversion set <s>60924</s> 60921 will most likely fit. The set includes all the required motor parts to convert it to a 5-star motor, which runs much smoother than the 3-star originally fitted.
The set also includes a mfx decoder, noise supressors and some other small parts.
It is rather expencive, so there are cheaper options, like the Delta decoder 66032, which uses the original motor.

Some other manufactorers have some other solutions, but I leave it to people with more experience than me to tell you.

Edit: correction of motor type error, or maybe the 3060 has been made with both LFCM and DCM?
Best regards Svein, Norway
grumpy old sod
Offline rschaffr  
#3 Posted : 03 September 2009 02:33:42(UTC)
rschaffr

United States   
Johnnie