Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline joseluisvalde  
#1 Posted : 20 January 2023 16:18:37(UTC)
joseluisvalde

Spain   
Joined: 02/04/2014(UTC)
Posts: 86
Location: san sebastian
Does anyone in the group have the Marklin UP 844 locomotive with dynamic smoke and on the whistle?
This smoke system (spectacular and equal to other American brands) has given me problems from the beginning. When I received it (in October 2021) I had to return it for that reason; Later I had the same problem again and now I find the same thing. Apparently when connecting the smoke, the consumption increases a lot (more than 2 A) and some component ends up burning.
Does anyone know this problem?
Thanks and regards
Jose Luis

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by joseluisvalde
Offline marklinist5999  
#2 Posted : 20 January 2023 16:36:56(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 2,030
Location: Michigan, Troy
Oh yes, not I, but several have it, and have had a problem with smoke.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#3 Posted : 20 January 2023 21:37:11(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,520
Location: New Zealand
The smoke unit issues with the UP 844 and the BR02 are well known to Marklin.

Send your loco back to Marklin via your dealer for repair.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline joseluisvalde  
#4 Posted : 20 January 2023 23:36:22(UTC)
joseluisvalde

Spain   
Joined: 02/04/2014(UTC)
Posts: 86
Location: san sebastian
Thanks for your comments.
I have sent the claim to my provider, but it is the third time I have done so. My fear is that they will repair or change the burnt component again, but if do not solve the origin of the problem, it will burn again.

The Americans who have this smoke system have also had quite a few problems, but it seems that they modified what is necessary and lately they are working better.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by joseluisvalde
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#5 Posted : 21 January 2023 04:05:07(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,520
Location: New Zealand
My Marklin 39027 BR02 arrived with a note in the box to say the repair had already been done. I haven't as yet had it on the track long enough to run it with smoke.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline marklin61  
#6 Posted : 21 January 2023 07:45:29(UTC)
marklin61


Joined: 05/01/2007(UTC)
Posts: 96
Location: Tuki Tuki Valley
Jeepers, I have this model and like Dave haven’t yet run mind with smoke. Is there any indication I should be looking for to identify if the unit I have is problematic…or is it simply trial and error?
Steve...............

Life with Pinot Noir, Chocolate and Marklin trains..........
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by marklin61
Offline klarinettmeister  
#7 Posted : 21 January 2023 08:06:02(UTC)
klarinettmeister

Sweden   
Joined: 13/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 788
Location: Kirseberg
Mine got a short and it worked perfectly with smoke... for 2 seconds. Then the smell of burning electronics appeared. It's sent back to my dealer who has sent it back to Märklin some months ago...
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by klarinettmeister
Offline joseluisvalde  
#8 Posted : 21 January 2023 10:53:50(UTC)
joseluisvalde

Spain   
Joined: 02/04/2014(UTC)
Posts: 86
Location: san sebastian
What I do is control with the CS or the Ecos the consumption in Amp when the smoke function is turned ON (F1). It should not consume more than 600 mA or at most a peak at 800 mA (smoke only; in standbay without smoke the consumption is approx 60 mA).
If this consumption rises, it will take little time for some component of the smoke PCB to burn.


Regards Jose Luis
Offline JohnjeanB  
#9 Posted : 21 January 2023 14:11:53(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 2,382
Location: Paris, France
Hi José-Luis
Originally Posted by: joseluisvalde Go to Quoted Post
Does anyone in the group have the Marklin UP 844 locomotive with dynamic smoke and on the whistle?
This smoke system (spectacular and equal to other American brands) has given me problems from the beginning. When I received it (in October 2021) I had to return it for that reason; Later I had the same problem again and now I find the same thing. Apparently when connecting the smoke, the consumption increases a lot (more than 2 A) and some component ends up burning.
Does anyone know this problem?
Thanks and regards
Jose Luis



I don't have the Marklin UP 844 but the Märklin BR 06 (39662) which also surely has the same dynamic smoke unit and I have not had problems but these:
- do not overfill the smoke unit (that is approx half the pipette delivered with the unit)
- when the loco does not smoke I blow a little air from a distance (10 cm) on the smoke exhaust with my mouth. Sounds ridiculous but it works. I guess it has to do with air locks (bubbles in the conduit).

As you know, the smoke unit switches off by itself after a while and its current draw is multiple times that of the whole loco (530 mA compared with 130 mA as measured by my CS3).
Yes, when there is no fluid, it smells like something is burning and it glows in the steam exhaust.
For sure, if your loco draws 2 amps there is something very wrong (it should be MAX 600 mA when all is on and the motor providing maximum effort).
Here are the total current needs
- all ON but speed is 0 and no smoke = 1 mA or less
- all ON but speed is normal and traction effort is normal. No smoke = 130 mA
- all ON , speed is normal and traction effort is normal, smoke is on = 530 mA

Sorry for these obvious things
Jean
My layout videos
latest vid
marshalling yard
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Online bph  
#10 Posted : 21 January 2023 17:41:14(UTC)
bph

Norway   
Joined: 04/08/2018(UTC)
Posts: 677
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post

I don't have the Marklin UP 844 but the Märklin BR 06 (39662) which also surely has the same dynamic smoke unit and I have not had problems but these:

For sure, if your loco draws 2 amps there is something very wrong (it should be MAX 600 mA when all is on and the motor providing maximum effort).
Here are the total current needs
- all ON but speed is 0 and no smoke = 1 mA or less
- all ON but speed is normal and traction effort is normal. No smoke = 130 mA
- all ON , speed is normal and traction effort is normal, smoke is on = 530 mA
Jean


Hi
Thanks for your data on the 06, quite interesting Smile, however the smoke generator on the UP 844 is a bit different than the one in the BR 06. (i have them both)
- different part numbers.
- different chamber design (judging from what's visible from above, and the drawings)
- 844 has 3x the chamber size and can take max 1,5 ml of smoke fluid vs 0,5 ml on the BR 06. ref the manuals.
- dedicated whistle smoke. ThumpUp
- in my opinion more heavy smoke, at least when full, and therefore it is likely to assume it draws some more current. but I have not measured it, nor have I compared them directly.

and as a side note: because of the reported issues, I have only used the recommended 02421 in my steamers with a dynamic smoke generator......
Offline joseluisvalde  
#11 Posted : 21 January 2023 20:06:09(UTC)
joseluisvalde

Spain   
Joined: 02/04/2014(UTC)
Posts: 86
Location: san sebastian
I appreciate the interest in dynamic smoke on Marklin locomotives.
For my part I don't think I'm doing anything wrong when I use smoke (which is rarely). The quantity and quality of the smoke fluid according to the standard. I have some American locomotives that at first gave a lot of problems, but they have recognized the failures after several general complaints with various clients, and now it seems (crossing my fingers) that it is working well.
The Marklin UP 844 locomotive, I bought it in November 2021, when it came out, and from the first moment of testing I had to return it; The problem was repeated for the second time and recently for the third time.
I don't want to say that all have a problem, but it happens to me that consumption increases almost immediately above 2 A and soon some component ends up burning and the smoke stops working. Clearly Marklin fixed or changed the component, but not the source. I imagine that by now they have found a solution.
I bought the CS Ecos from Esu to be able to regulate the voltage of the transformer (in Marklin's it is fixed at 19V) and now I use it with 16.5V.
All my locomotives work well with that voltage and also the American ones with smoke; but this UP 844 keeps giving the same problem.
Now I wait for my supplier to inform me of his contact with Marklin.
Regards Jose Luis
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2023, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.581 seconds.