Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline TEB007  
#1 Posted : 20 January 2023 00:18:27(UTC)
TEB007

United States   
I've recently updated my Swedish SJ Rc 3 (Marklin 3341) with a new Marklin 60943 motor, and an ESU 51968 adapter + 58419 decoder. I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure I have all the wires connected correctly. When I put it on the track, my 60657 Mobile Station correctly identifies it as "SJ Rc3 1061", the front and rear lights work, and the sounds work. When I turn the throttle up, however, it moves only a few inches then it stops, the lights go out, and it's completely unresponsive. If I delete the loco from the Station, I can go through the whole process over again. Does anyone have a recommendation of what I should check?
Offline Bill L  
#2 Posted : 20 January 2023 02:08:34(UTC)
Bill L

United States   
My initial step would be to try to unsolder the 2 wires that go to the cover plate where the graphite brushes are, and use a simple DC power source to check if the motor does turn. Did the lok run fine before your digital conversion?
Offline TEB007  
#3 Posted : 20 January 2023 03:51:27(UTC)
TEB007

United States   
Good idea, Bill. I unsoldered the motor and was able to successfully test it forward and reverse. It did run fine before the conversion. I just wanted to add better speed control and new sounds!
Offline TEB007  
#4 Posted : 20 January 2023 03:55:47(UTC)
TEB007

United States   
Does it matter which screw on the cover plate I connect the black wire from TRKL on the decoder to?
Offline maruju  
#5 Posted : 20 January 2023 07:38:27(UTC)
maruju

Japan   
Originally Posted by: TEB007 Go to Quoted Post