Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline iwltsgdom  
#1 Posted : 21 June 2022 07:36:21(UTC)
iwltsgdom

Hong Kong   
Joined: 11/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 6
Location: Hong Kong (SAR), Hong Kong
Hello

I bought a Trix locomotive DHG500 (21523). This is not DCC ready and I planned to convert it into a DCC locomotive.

I thought the task was easy in the first place but it turns out to be difficult. The circuit keeps on short whenever I switch on the DCC power. However, the locomotive can operate smoothly if a blank plug instead of the 8-pin decoder is inserted.

Could you let me have a solution or if there is any tip for such conversion.

Thanks
FB_IMG_1655525971016.jpgFB_IMG_1655526045449.jpg

Offline JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 21 June 2022 13:35:04(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 2,080
Location: Paris, France
Hi
Welcome to our forum
Just a shoot in the dark but seems to me that when you plug the decoder instead of the "blank plug" there is a short between the two rails
Here is an extract of a Märklin decumentation on a decoder with cables (such as the 60982). It is fitted with NEM cable colors (see the colors in the red frame).
Märklin / Trix way of wiring the 8 pin connecteors is also shown in the picture below (lower left red frame)
NEM Colours.png
So I suggest you check the wiring.
Isn't there a way to pug the connector the wrong way (180° turn)?
The full decoder documentation can be downloaded here
https://static.maerklin....2e44f7c0851604051046.pdf
As you know there are 2 sets of colors:
- the Märklin ones and
- the NEM ones,

so pick the correct column.
The 2 key cables are the RED and the BLACK (resp. the left and right rails)
What is the decoder type?
I hope this helps
Cheers
Jean
My layout videos
latest vid
hump yard
Offline iwltsgdom  
#3 Posted : 21 June 2022 17:41:31(UTC)
iwltsgdom

Hong Kong   
Joined: 11/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 6
Location: Hong Kong (SAR), Hong Kong
Thanks for your reply.

I did resemble pickups and motor wires but it still doesnt work. Only hissing sound can be heard when I turn on the power and start the engine.
Offline iwltsgdom  
#4 Posted : 21 June 2022 17:43:13(UTC)
iwltsgdom

Hong Kong   
Joined: 11/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 6
Location: Hong Kong (SAR), Hong Kong
IMG_20220621_233717.jpgIMG_20220621_233736.jpg
Offline H0  
#5 Posted : 21 June 2022 18:02:04(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,568
Location: DE-NW
I'd like to see a better picture of the plug and the socket.
I guess the wiring is wrong on the socket.
When you plug the decoder in in the wrong way, both motor connections will go to the motor and both power connections will go to the power connections and no harm will be done.
It looks as if you have both motor connections on the same side and both power connections on the same side.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline Goofy  
#6 Posted : 23 June 2022 20:33:15(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,553
I believe it´s the black socket that are problem.
Why don´t you solder direct on the decoder 8 pol socket instead?
H0
DCC = Digital Command Control
Offline H0  
#7 Posted : 24 June 2022 09:36:30(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,568
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
I believe it´s the black socket that are problem.
In general, it is a good idea to use a decoder socket - if the space allows.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline iwltsgdom  
#8 Posted : 27 June 2022 07:06:53(UTC)
iwltsgdom

Hong Kong   
Joined: 11/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 6
Location: Hong Kong (SAR), Hong Kong
The conversion is ok now. The problem has been fixed.

IMG_20220626_001934.jpgIMG_20220626_002140.jpgIMG_20220625_234156.jpgIMG_20220625_234244.jpg
Offline H0  
#9 Posted : 27 June 2022 09:45:30(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,568
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: iwltsgdom Go to Quoted Post
The conversion is ok now. The problem has been fixed.
Thanks for the feedback.
What was the problem? Swapped wires? Something else?

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline iwltsgdom  
#10 Posted : 27 June 2022 11:21:59(UTC)
iwltsgdom

Hong Kong   
Joined: 11/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 6
Location: Hong Kong (SAR), Hong Kong
Pickup left and right swapped.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by iwltsgdom
H0
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2022, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.462 seconds.