Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Ciumala  
#1 Posted : 09 October 2021 19:52:03(UTC)
Ciumala

Romania   
Hello,
I have a TRIX model train nr 22193 also known as the Glass Train or Glaserner Zug.
For about a year the model has worked without any issues until a couple of weeks ago
when I that the train has issues crossing junctions. At first, I fought that the issue may
be caused by the dirty wheels but after cleaning the wheels and all the junctions on the
layoutm I saw that the problem persisted.
My theory is that there might be an design issue regarding the way the train
gets power from the track towards the engine but I am no expert and I'm also little
terrified of dismantling a fairly expensive model train.

Could someone give a bit of advice on how to proceed?

Thanks in advance
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Ciumala
Offline marklinist5999  
#2 Posted : 10 October 2021 00:21:10(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Do any other of your models not perform well? Could be dirty track rails also then. If not, clean the metal wheel contacts at the inseide of the wheels. These are the motor pick-up.
Use canned air spray, a cotton swab, and alcohol or kerosene. Also these may need adjusting a bit for best spring loaded contact.
The motor is the same can motor and woem gear drive Trix has used for a long time,and many Marklin models now share. Follow the oiling/greasing guide in the user manual. Over oiling isn't good. If the axles are grease laden, clean them also. Old oil and grease can solidify. Clean gears also turn better with clean grease.