Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline aussiephil  
#1 Posted : 11 April 2021 05:47:42(UTC)
aussiephil

Australia   
Joined: 18/04/2014(UTC)
Posts: 7
Location: Cranbourne North, Victoria
Hi guys
I bought a CS3 about two years ago and have not performed any of the available updates from Marklin.
My question is, do I need to download and install every update from the beginning or do I just download the latest update and it will incorporate every update that has come before it?
Many thanks in advance
Aussie Phil
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by aussiephil
Offline marklinist5999  
#2 Posted : 11 April 2021 08:38:57(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 628
Location: Michigan, Troy
Phil, you continue telling it to perform updates until a red dot no longer appears in the update available box or window. Some take longer than others. Wait until the update successful prompt shows before moving on.
Offline aussiephil  
#3 Posted : 11 April 2021 08:59:00(UTC)
aussiephil

Australia   
Joined: 18/04/2014(UTC)
Posts: 7
Location: Cranbourne North, Victoria
Originally Posted by: marklinist5999 Go to Quoted Post
Phil, you continue telling it to perform updates until a red dot no longer appears in the update available box or window. Some take longer than others. Wait until the update successful prompt shows before moving on.


Thanks so much for the advice - will do!


thanks 1 user liked this useful post by aussiephil
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#4 Posted : 11 April 2021 11:41:53(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 17,862
Location: New Zealand
Generally the updates are cumulative - you only need to apply the current one.

When there is a specific need to be at a certain version before upgrading to a new version, the manufacturer will specify that in the update release notes. An example is when ESU updated the Ecos from v3 to v4 - you had to be at a certain v3.x level before you could go to v4.x - sometimes known as a 2 step upgrade.
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline aussiephil  
#5 Posted : 18 April 2021 00:31:40(UTC)
aussiephil

Australia   
Joined: 18/04/2014(UTC)
Posts: 7
Location: Cranbourne North, Victoria
Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post
Generally the updates are cumulative - you only need to apply the current one.

When there is a specific need to be at a certain version before upgrading to a new version, the manufacturer will specify that in the update release notes. An example is when ESU updated the Ecos from v3 to v4 - you had to be at a certain v3.x level before you could go to v4.x - sometimes known as a 2 step upgrade.


Thanks for the advice Bigdaddy - hope things are good across the ditch!
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.433 seconds.