Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline wingtips  
#1 Posted : 14 March 2021 04:18:27(UTC)
wingtips

United States   
Hi. I'm brand new to the hobby, and just bought and connected a brand-new grade crossing set (8992). The gates activate when the train passes the circuit tracks (yay), but they only go halfway down (boo), and hold there until the second circuit track is crossed, at which point they pop back up (yay). Has anyone else experienced this behavior? My set is analogue, and I'm using the big old blue transformer (6727). Thanks!
Offline wingtips  
#2 Posted : 14 March 2021 13:09:03(UTC)
wingtips

United States   
I should add that I also had another problematic pair (from eBay), which I returned due to a different issue. Those did lower fully, but would often get stuck on the way up.

That set was vintage, in the photo box. The new set described in my post above came in the newer-style packaging.

My gut is that perhaps the new edition is somehow different in design, and may require a newer-design transformer. Grasping at straws, tho!
Offline JohnjeanB  
#3 Posted : 14 March 2021 15:27:53(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Hi Wingtips
I don't have this Märklin crossing gate but the HO equivalent.
The arm is a molded plastic with a little iron core to be attracted by the solenoid hidden in the supporting vertical post.
The arm has 2 plastic short axles clipping into a sheet-metal hinges.
The system is so constructed that when hitting accidentally the gate's arm, it will un-clip and get loose.
The arm normally gets back in vertical position because it is unbalanced but the force is very tiny so any resistance will prevent a return to vertical position.
Of course any filing or change will modify the force to return it to vertical position

Sans titre.png

So how to repair