Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Trogbahnen  
#1 Posted : 07 March 2021 19:10:19(UTC)
Trogbahnen

United States   
I recently acquired a Märklin Z scale Bavarian S 3/6 locomotive (Märklin 8892), but I’m having some issues running it. The light comes on when it’s on the track, and it changes in brightness with the controller, but I can’t seem to get it to move. I looked at the motor area of the locomotive, and I saw that there were some metal pieces that weren’t connected, but I’m new to Märklin so I don’t know if they’re meant to be or not. I’ve attached photos of what I’m talking about1A1DA7BA-EAA8-4590-83F8-0ADEC688FAEE.jpeg98B2F4E8-77C9-4A32-B4E8-FD7556FFF6F4.jpeg74833364-2092-41C6-83CE-FE7742A3AB14.jpeg9BBFEC1B-3F92-4715-8612-5EE4349A8932.jpegD6139384-9236-45FB-8CB4-D0C63A1B7C4B.jpeg

Best,
Trogbahnen
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#2 Posted : 07 March 2021 20:33:34(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
Originally Posted by: Trogbahnen Go to Quoted Post
I recently acquired a Märklin Z scale Bavarian S 3/6 locomotive (Märklin 8892), but I’m having some issues running it. The light comes on when it’s on the track, and it changes in brightness with the controller, but I can’t seem to get it to move. I looked at the motor area of the locomotive, and I saw that there were some metal pieces that weren’t connected, but I’m new to Märklin so I don’t know if they’re meant to be or not.
Trogbahnen

I'm not familiar with this locomotive, but there seem to be two problems - firstly that there are no motor brushes (I'm assuming that you didn't just remove them to make the photo clearer) and secondly that there is no contact onto the motor itself.

You can identify which brushes are needed from here : http://www.zscale.org/articles/fivepole.html#table