Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline oranda  
#1 Posted : 23 February 2021 11:30:26(UTC)
oranda

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/04/2014(UTC)
Posts: 118
Location: ENGLAND
Just curious to know what happens when I shutdown my CS3+.

At the moment of a shutdown, does the CS3 also automatically create a save of all of its settings?

If so - is this save reloaded at the reboot/start of the CS3? And if so what is the file called?

Offline JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 23 February 2021 16:26:23(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,325
Location: Paris, France
Hi Oranda

I am far from being a specialist.
I believe the power down sequence is about finishing all editing and changes (MFX registration) and storing in final files.

So in the very large majority of cases, shutting off (without the power down) has no or little consequences. Edition lost, MFX registration lost or stuck.
It is NOT recommended because an abrupt stop during a memory clean-up (as computer do now) may have catastrophic consequences.
To know about the file details I suggest you look into the detail of back-up files (xx.zip). They include 2 folders: lokicons and work
The work directory contains 4 directories: config: locks; status; web
The config directory contains 6 directories: dev; fs (about routes); gbs (about track plan); lok (about locos definitions and CVs; mag (about magnetic devices); prefs (about selected preferences and the main station and on the slave station)

All the rest is about reverse engineering
Cheers
Jean
My layout videos
latest vid
hump yard
Offline Goofy  
#3 Posted : 23 February 2021 18:18:01(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,369
Originally Posted by: oranda Go to Quoted Post
Just curious to know what happens when I shutdown my CS3+.

At the moment of a shutdown, does the CS3 also automatically create a save of all of its settings?

If so - is this save reloaded at the reboot/start of the CS3? And if so what is the file called?



If you change some settings in the locomotive you must click on the upper right corner to confirm accept.
This way you did save the settings of the locomotive.
When you shut the CS3/CS3+ power off the system save all data.
But you must do correct way when you shut the system off.
I do see CS3 system are strangely designed by Märklin if we shall discuss about soft program.
The CS3 is excessive system in my opinion.

H0
Two rail= Pure realism
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.357 seconds.