Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline bygger01  
#1 Posted : 16 February 2021 13:59:16(UTC)
bygger01

Denmark   
Joined: 23/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 116
Location: Herning in Denmark
When using Märklin H0, it is a bit of a challenge to make industry or port facilities when it comes to the road surface, because it is difficult to find a good solution with the power supply for our the third rail.

I ended up choosing an N rail and Auhagen cobblestone plates with strips of 6.5 mm on each side of the N rail + same plates between the tracks.

Both are 1½ mm and it fit with 1 mm Evergren glued to the sleepr

But getting the thin N rail down to the height of the center conductor is difficult.

I have often searched for a solution with a conductive center conductor, as on Märklin's turntable 7286, so that you only cut into strips, but never succeeded.

Have seen other solutions with nails or with Peco SL-17, but they could be nicer.

So do you have a suggestion for a better solution?
Best regards
Jørgen St. from Herning in DK
H0 / Märklin K track / CS2 / full digital / Epoke III +/-
Offline DaleSchultz  
#2 Posted : 16 February 2021 17:20:40(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,642
and presumably you put this into 2-rail track?

I am wondering if I could design something that fits between track, and takes some conductor in the middle, and print with 3D printer....
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by DaleSchultz
Offline marklinist5999  
#3 Posted : 16 February 2021 20:29:33(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2021(UTC)
Posts: 57
Location: Michigan, Troy
Sure, trickier things have been done. I have an intermodal yard planned for my new layout. Not big, but I got a Walthers ho scale Cornerstone yard pavement kit ite, #933-4120.
It has crane ways, and pavement for trucks with drains. Also track crossing ramps. Not sure if it is made in N scale. It is not expensive. It's molded in grey. The sections can be custom arranged for your size and configuring. It has several sections included.
Their kits are nice, and some made by Kibri, like the Scenemaster contaioer cranes, and reach stacker. This is from Taiwan, like their shipping container tank kits at $7 or $8 each. Their 20, 40, or 45 foot containers are nice too. Many carrier names for both.
Offline bygger01  
#4 Posted : 16 February 2021 22:59:12(UTC)
bygger01

Denmark   
Joined: 23/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 116
Location: Herning in Denmark
DaleSchulz / Sorry it Märklin so 3-Rail track

marklinist5999 / Have looked up the Cornerstone pavement, but it is look like concret look, and I want more the cobblestone look !
Best regards
Jørgen St. from Herning in DK
H0 / Märklin K track / CS2 / full digital / Epoke III +/-
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by bygger01
Offline DaleSchultz  
#5 Posted : 16 February 2021 23:07:58(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,642
so if using 3 rail track (C or K?) there wont be much room for the rail you are adding for the pickup. Perhaps the problem you were alluding to....

if you took 2-rail track and then added the N rail down the middle (thus adding the 3rd rail) perhaps it would not be too high...
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
Offline PacoM  
#6 Posted : 17 February 2021 22:32:32(UTC)
PacoM

Spain   
Joined: 20/08/2020(UTC)
Posts: 14
I have used a steel cable designed for the changing device in bicycles, together with Peco flexible rail. Its diameter is 1,1 mm and may be glued to the centre of the sleepers with very small drops of epoxy two-component glue (Araldit for example). The cable used for the brakes is a bit thicker (about 2 mm). It works perfecty. You may watch the general aspect in the image.Via Peco flex.jpg
thanks 5 users liked this useful post by PacoM
Offline PacoM  
#7 Posted : 18 February 2021 17:30:09(UTC)
PacoM

Spain   
Joined: 20/08/2020(UTC)
Posts: 14
The diameter of brake cable is actually 1,5 mm
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.367 seconds.