Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Nate  
#1 Posted : 02 December 2020 11:48:40(UTC)
Nate

United States   
I recently bought a vintage factory display layout off a friend, who in turn bought the layout off of a baker. Most of their other equipment is from the 60s and 70s, so I assume the layout is about the same age.

I have a few questions:
1) Is this a standard layout, or are things like this custom built?
2) If it's standard, how can I identify it / look up more information about layouts like it?
3) I'm new to collecting; is it a bad idea for me to modify the layout? I wanted to replace and clean up the wiring, electrify the switches, make any necessary changes for digitization, and add a new connection between the inner and outer loops.

Adding an extra link between the loops would be pretty invasive; the loops aren't conveniently spaced for inserting M-track switches. It would be far easier to replace all of the track on the layout with K flex track, but that feels really wrong.

I took these pictures after temporarily disassembling some of the track; the pieces are laid in their original positions.

PXL_20201202_100733434.jpgPXL_20201202_100843136.jpg

Thanks!
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Nate
Online analogmike  
#2 Posted : 02 December 2020 12:51:50(UTC)
analogmike

United States   
Hi Nate,
My two cents:

1. Keep the M track (nostalgia).

2. Electrify the switches.

3. At the front of the layout replace the RH switch with a double slip crossover and put the RH switch to the outer loop (I think it will fit).

4. Go manual with the signals and get rid of the contact tracks (Reliability).

5. Add old style catenary on a separate traffo.

6. Don't digitize ($$$$).

Play, have fun, good luck.
Mikey
I love the smell of smoke fluid in the morning .