Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline kfrankli  
#1 Posted : 15 November 2020 14:52:28(UTC)
kfrankli

United States   
Joined: 15/11/2020(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: Virginia, Richmond
I've finally bit the bullet and started my first layout, using the Noch Cortina as the base. I'm trying to set it up to allow for 3 trains running automatically under signal control, 2 on the inner loop, 1 on the outer. I've used the official Noch Cortina trackplan:

Noch Trackplan
'
The track plan includes 3 universal relays total, 2 circuit tracks, and one block on the inner loop. Clearly the 2 circuit tracks are used to mainly control the crossing gates. Are these also supposed to control the one block to allow for 2 trains to run on the inner loop? Am I looking at the wrong track plan?
Offline JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 15 November 2020 15:23:25(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,183
Location: Paris, France
Hi
Originally Posted by: kfrankli Go to Quoted Post
The track plan includes 3 universal relays total, 2 circuit tracks, and one block on the inner loop. Clearly the 2 circuit tracks are used to mainly control the crossing gates. Are these also supposed to control the one block to allow for 2 trains to run on the inner loop? Am I looking at the wrong track plan?

The 2 track circuits are one for the outer loop and the second one for the inner folded bone track. They also added a 3 stop sections (universal relays) for signals (too few IMO).
The track plan you show is of course the one on the Noch.de website.

It would be lovely to have this layout operate under digital but alas this is only possible after skillful conversion of selected Z gauge locos
I am not experienced in Z scale but in HO (Digital, PC-controlled) and N scales (an analog layout with home-made current feelers and smooth speed-control by a French System called Lybe now defunct).

Cheers
Jean

My layout videos
latest vid
hump yard
Offline kfrankli  
#3 Posted : 15 November 2020 16:25:30(UTC)
kfrankli

United States   
Joined: 15/11/2020(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: Virginia, Richmond
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post
Hi
Originally Posted by: kfrankli Go to Quoted Post
The track plan includes 3 universal relays total, 2 circuit tracks, and one block on the inner loop. Clearly the 2 circuit tracks are used to mainly control the crossing gates. Are these also supposed to control the one block to allow for 2 trains to run on the inner loop? Am I looking at the wrong track plan?

The 2 track circuits are one for the outer loop and the second one for the inner folded bone track. They also added a 3 stop sections (universal relays) for signals (too few IMO).
The track plan you show is of course the one on the Noch.de website.

It would be lovely to have this layout operate under digital but alas this is only possible after skillful conversion of selected Z gauge locos
I am not experienced in Z scale but in HO (Digital, PC-controlled) and N scales (an analog layout with home-made current feelers and smooth speed-control by a French System called Lybe now defunct).

Cheers
Jean



I'm thinking they don't show enough circuit tracks to control the signals given the 3 relays and only a single isolated block on the inner loop.


Offline JohnjeanB  
#4 Posted : 15 November 2020 16:48:49(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,183
Location: Paris, France
Originally Posted by: kfrankli Go to Quoted Post
I'm thinking they don't show enough circuit tracks to control the signals given the 3 relays and only a single isolated block on the inner loop.

It is up to you but IMO, the inner loop must have minimum 3 signals for a block operation, assuming this is a one way loop

You must also IMO replace normal track sections with contact tracks (8589, 8529, 8539) located just after the signal / stop section, ideally 2 of them behind each signal (one to turn the signal red and the other one to turn the previous signal green).
Each relay or signal is connected to the common red and on the other side connected to each stop section. The track between the stop sections must be connected to the common red.
Jean

My layout videos
latest vid
hump yard
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Offline kfrankli  
#5 Posted : 19 November 2020 16:13:12(UTC)
kfrankli

United States   
Joined: 15/11/2020(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: Virginia, Richmond
Well I found a older Marklin HO wiring guide that I think is getting me to where I want to be. Now to develop a plan for my Noch Cortina!

https://www.marklinfan.n...cumenti/SignalManual.pdf


Offline husafreak  
#6 Posted : 20 November 2020 16:31:44(UTC)
husafreak

United States   
Joined: 09/04/2019(UTC)
Posts: 236
Location: California, Bay Area
Thanks for posting that link. I look forward to learning about signals, something I see a lot but don't really understand it in model railroad operation.
Offline veloboldie  
#7 Posted : 24 November 2020 02:12:44(UTC)
veloboldie

United States   
Joined: 31/05/2018(UTC)
Posts: 22
Location: Arvada
Originally Posted by: kfrankli Go to Quoted Post
Well I found a older Marklin HO wiring guide that I think is getting me to where I want to be. Now to develop a plan for my Noch Cortina!

https://www.marklinfan.n...cumenti/SignalManual.pdf




You will need to find a copy of an old Marklin 0296 Track Layout Book to properly wire the signals for Cortina layout. If you are using the old 8939, the 8945 universal relay will work. However, it gets complicated if you use signals 89391-93; you will need to use the 7244 universal relays that are powered by the 16V AC transformer (for HO scale).

Guide to Z scale website is a good source for wiring: http://www.guidetozscale...ml/guide_to_z-scale.html
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.562 seconds.