Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline hennabm  
#1 Posted : 29 August 2020 19:32:16(UTC)
hennabm

Scotland   
Joined: 22/09/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,934
Location: Edinburgh,
Having seen the operation of one of these on the interweb, I thought I would like one for my totally analogue layout.
There are a few out there for sale but most seem to have their instructions missing, which for a technophobe like me is very important. Anyway i did find one in a box with the instructions, in Israel. OhMyGod

The bay of e informed me it would take a month to get here but by fair wind it only took around 10 days. So today was the day to try it out, having read all the instructions.

The various knobs and switches are explained and with that it was time to hook it up to my (small) test track.

As can be seen from the 2 videos the difference in acceleration is very good and gives a much more realistic start with analogue. The deceleration I'm sure is just as effective but I do not have room for it on my small piece of track.

The other functions give a delayed stop of up to 30 seconds and the final switch is for an emergency stop.
Excuse the voice but here is the physical difference on start up displayed in the two short videos.

Without 6600



With 6600


I have yet to explore the pause facility. It will mean a purchase of some 5146 and 5131 tracks and fitting them in the layout. OhMyGod

Mike
1957 - 1985 era
What's digital?
Offline hxmiesa  
#2 Posted : 29 August 2020 21:21:05(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,066
Location: Spain
Videos not visible. Maybe you made them private?

Anyway, I have 3 of these units myself, and yes, they are pretty good in analogue. -Just be sure no digital/delta lok ever touch it´s "bahnstrohm"!
Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by hxmiesa
Offline JohnjeanB  
#3 Posted : 29 August 2020 21:54:49(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,144
Location: Paris, France
Hi Mike
I find the 6600 very much interesting to use in analog operation with only conventional locos
It allows soft braking and starting, change of direction. I haven't been using the unit since a very long time sorryBigGrin
I have found this notice on the web http://www.digital-train.com/Di...lin/Maerklin_6600_UK.pdf
Thanks to www.digital-train.com
I hope this helps
Cheers
Jean
My lay-out videos
latest vid
humping yard
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Offline hennabm  
#4 Posted : 31 August 2020 09:26:58(UTC)
hennabm

Scotland   
Joined: 22/09/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,934
Location: Edinburgh,
Visibility of videos now sorted, thank you.
1957 - 1985 era
What's digital?
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Similar Topics
Märklin 6600 Controller (H0-scale)
by Guest 05/11/2018 16:38:26(UTC)
6600 controller (Digital)
by Doodlebug 11/02/2006 23:24:07(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.196 seconds.