Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Jeroen  
#1 Posted : 20 June 2020 21:26:45(UTC)
Jeroen

Netherlands   
Hello, i'm a newbie on the train hobby but i got a question about Märklin 24624.
Many times when i switch my CS3+ this happens and they dont switch good.

For example, The second movie goes wrong a few times: after 5 seconds and after 18 seconds, the switch tongues do not or hardly change, and the sound it makes, is it normal ?
Sometimes it just does not turn.

Video1

Video2

Video3

Video4

Underside,

Did i do something wrong ? They are powered by Viessmann 5200 Lighting transformer 16 V, 52 VA
Technical data:
- Input Voltage: 230v
- Output Voltage: 10 and 16v AC
- Maximum Power: 52 VA

Should i return them ?

(C track)

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Jeroen
Online JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 21 June 2020 00:32:52(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Hi Jeroen

Welcome to the forum. I don't think you did something wrong (unless with a wire in a moving part-see below).
If the 24624 is still under warranty you should ask for a replacement.

What is not clear to me: are you using a control box such as the 72710 or a decoder?

If it is not anymore under warranty then opening and fixing the problem is a matter of how skilled you are with tiny and complex mechanisms.

Basically the cause can be:
- one wire (decoder, lighted signal, solenoid) in the way of a moving part (the point). This is the most frequent cause of problems.
- one or more of the points are not moving freely thus making it more difficult for the motor. You can try to clean / lubricate the point axles from the outside (w/o opening anything). Usually not applicable to new units.