Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Carim  
#1 Posted : 30 December 2015 13:10:28(UTC)
Carim

United Kingdom   
Joined: 15/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 433
Location: London
Hi,

My 88680 loco (Br 101) has a 3-Pole motor and was a really good runner but it needs new brushes. The brushes specified are part #8989; however, these brushes are no longer available. My 5-Pole versions of this loco need brushes #89891 and from the parts diagrams they look like the #8989. But I read elsewhere that the 5-pole brushes are similar to the 3-pole ones but not the same. Can I substitute #89891 for #8989? (What is the difference between the two?).

Thanks,
Carim
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 30 December 2015 13:45:48(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,749
Location: DE-NW
Hi, Carim,

I don't remember where I read it, but I recall reading that "five-pole" brushes can be used for three-pole motors, but not the other way around.

Here's a dealer page that confirms this (with reference to Märklin Magazin 6/2012):
http://www.modellbau-tru...atzteile-m%C3%A4rklin-z/
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by H0
Offline Carim  
#3 Posted : 30 December 2015 16:14:12(UTC)
Carim

United Kingdom   
Joined: 15/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 433
Location: London
Hi Tom,

Thanks for that info and link; very helpful.

Regards,
Carim
Online kiwiAlan  
#4 Posted : 30 December 2015 20:47:00(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 5,141
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Hi, Carim,

I don't remember where I read it, but I recall reading that "five-pole" brushes can be used for three-pole motors, but not the other way around.

Here's a dealer page that confirms this (with reference to Märklin Magazin 6/2012):
http://www.modellbau-tru...atzteile-m%C3%A4rklin-z/


I suspect the brush is slightly 'shorter' in the circumference measurement to accomodate dealing with a 5 segment commutator instead of a 3 segment one, so I would suggets it would work. A 3 pole brush would probably bridge segments on a 5 pole armature, resulting in problems for the motor.

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by kiwiAlan
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#5 Posted : 05 March 2020 23:24:56(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 200
Location: England, Cambridge
Hi Carim,

For the sake of closure can you confirm whether of not the substitution of the 5-pole brushes was successful? Do you feel the loco ran any better or poorer afterwards?

Cheers


Chris
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Poor Skeleton
Offline Carim  
#6 Posted : 06 March 2020 11:05:14(UTC)
Carim

United Kingdom   
Joined: 15/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 433
Location: London
Hi Chris,

I am afraid that you are really pushing my memory on this one. I think I followed Tom's advice and they worked. But after some time, if I remember correctly, the motor packed up and I replaced it with a 5-pole motor. I do remember that I just accepted that the 3-pole was old (it was a second hand loco), rather than thinking it had anything to do with the brushes. I think that I thought that the run-in 3-pole motor gave better performance than the 5-pole motor.

Kind regards,
Carim
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.360 seconds.