Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Michael4  
#1 Posted : 18 January 2020 12:05:59(UTC)
Michael4

United Kingdom   
Caption on the back reads:

SBB class Ae 6/6 6,000 h.p. Co-Co electric loco No 11451 'WINTERTHUR' leaves Goschenen with the 15.03 Chiasso - Zurich HB with TC from Milan, Locarno and Ancona. 14th August 1964

I am a novice, what do HB and TC mean? Is that the bear insignia for Bern on the side? On closer inspection I'm not sure.

Also, Marklin 3050 11414 seems to have a bit more shape to the front and certainly more 'decoration' plus two central lights, not one as in the pic. Judging by the numbers presumably it was based on an earlier loco?

UserPostedImageSBB452 (1) by dralowid, on Flickr

Offline Unholz  
#2 Posted : 18 January 2020 14:03:02(UTC)
Unholz

Switzerland   
You have been a member since:: 29/07/2007(UTC)
Mostly easy Wink:
- HB is the abbreviation for Hauptbahnhof, and this means main station. Occasionally one also sees the older abbreviation Hbf, but it means the same.
- There are two main series of the Ae 6/6 type (total 120 machines). The first 25 units (numbered 11401 to 11425) are the so-called Cantonal Locos (in German Kantonsloks) which carry the crests/insignia of the 25 original Cantons (states) of the Swiss Confederation. These have much more decoration than the locos with the numbers 11426 to 11520. These machines are named after large Swiss communities.