Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline nhoj  
#1 Posted : 04 November 2019 22:33:06(UTC)
nhoj

United States   
I bought a really cheap beat up 3080 and finished the repairs, I put in new Head/Tail Lights contacts along with new diffusers. I replaced the missing wheel skirts /covers, and need to replace the horribly bent handrails. The puffers need to be removed to fit the handrails, and I've
already ruined one trying to pull it out. It was not rusted or anything but I never got it out. I was just wondering if any of y'all have a better way to do this. I thought freezing by holding a ice cube against the puffer for 5 minutes but that didn't help. I'm an old newbie, and would appreciate the help. Crying

Edited by user 19 November 2019 01:28:12(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline jerdenberg  
#2 Posted : 05 November 2019 10:10:19(UTC)
jerdenberg

Netherlands   
From the exploded view I'd think it should be possible to push the puffer out from the inside (I did that with a broken puffer of my 3034).

Jeroen
Figomima division, UP; mostly figment of my imagination yet.
Offline nhoj  
#3 Posted : 05 November 2019 14:56:30(UTC)
nhoj

United States   
Thanks for the reply jerdenberg. Unfortunately, the frame casting is solid, no hole to push through. I've just about given up. I've tried some serious pulling on the puffer that I ruined... not even a little movement. I might saw off the ruined puffer flush with the frame and try to drill it out. Hopefully someone else out there knows how to do it. I'll wait as drilling is a last resort and more work than I wanted to do. Thanks again jerdenberg.
Offline RayF  
#4 Posted : 05 November 2019 16:14:18(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar