Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Janne75  
#1 Posted : 13 August 2019 10:19:36(UTC)
Janne75

Finland   
Joined: 23/03/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,576
Location: Finland
Hi

I bought this brown digital Märklin 5516 DRG EG 589 in this summer. When we tested to run it on the track it looks amazing. Love

My kids would like that it goes a bit faster. I know that the prototype did not go very fast and it is totally fine for me when I run it alone.

I have tried to search for instructions of how to adjust top speed and acceleration/braking delay with digital decoder potentiometers (by screwdriver) if there are any. If you know how to do it or if this 5516 has those potentiometers please let me know. Thanks! ThumpUp

One more question. When we build our living room 1-scale layout it is quite large. It is around 15-20 meters long. We have used so far only Märklin Mobile Station 2 with only one current supply point for this layout. I know MS2 has a limited power supply capability and it would be wise to have a more powerful controller. I have CS2 60214 with my digital H0 layout and I could use it, but the transformer is attached by screws to layout structure. Maybe I should buy another transformer/power supply for CS2 60214 so I could use this for my 1-scale trains too.

When we tested larger more power demanding 1-scale locos like K.Bay.St.E. Gt 2x4/4 Mallet that has two motors with many wagons (more track current needed) MS2 cut off the power too easily. It has started to sometimes turn on strangely with only showing ”Märklin” logo. I have not updated it or the track box for many years. Maybe five years ago or something... Scared It might help to this problem but not to larger power supply need. I found out that the newest update for MS2 is version 3.55 . I should check out what version I have. It should be somehow possible to update MS2 with CS2 but I do not remember anymore how it should be done. Maybe very easy to do that.

When locos run they go faster in the only power supply point and slower on the opposite side of track. With more powerful power supply also 5516 would go faster. But when I compare it’s top speed with other locos it is slower than most of them (except DB BR 80).

Cheers,
Janne
Märklin H0 digital layout. I have analog and digital H0 Collection. Rolling stock mostly from era I, II, III and IV. Märklin 1 gauge beginner.
Offline blid  
#2 Posted : 13 August 2019 12:25:45(UTC)
blid

Sweden   
Joined: 02/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 118
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
I have a CS1 Reloaded for my outdoors 1-gauge layout (with several feeders). It is too limited for consist and engines with several motors. I can also use a CS2 (60125) with a 60101 power supply. Still a bit tight. Interior lighting (non LED) in passenger cars have to be turned off.
Today I ordered the (former product) ESU 8 A booster. I hope it will give what I need.

I don't know anything about the 5516.
CS2, 60215, 4x60174, C-tracks, LDT HSI-88, TC Gold. OneGauge Marklin and MTH, CS1 Reloaded on LGB tracks. MTH 3-rail 0-gauge, DCS on GarGraves tracks.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by blid
Offline Janne75  
#3 Posted : 13 August 2019 22:48:06(UTC)
Janne75

Finland   
Joined: 23/03/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,576
Location: Finland
I think that CS2 60214 will have enough power for my layout if that 5 Amper power supply version for 1-scale is used. MS2 has 1.9 Amper power supply if I remember correctly.
Märklin H0 digital layout. I have analog and digital H0 Collection. Rolling stock mostly from era I, II, III and IV. Märklin 1 gauge beginner.
Offline kiwiAlan  
#4 Posted : 13 August 2019 22:52:30(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 4,398
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: Janne75 Go to Quoted Post
I think that CS2 60214 will have enough power for my layout if that 5 Amper power supply version for 1-scale is used. MS2 has 1.9 Amper power supply if I remember correctly.


Only if your 60214 is the later revision with the higher power output stage. The earlier revision is only 3A capability, irrespective of the higher output power supply.

Offline gcanton  
#5 Posted : 16 August 2019 19:30:15(UTC)
gcanton

United Kingdom   
Joined: 15/06/2004(UTC)
Posts: 54
Location: Hampshire, UK
I know it is probably not the right answer but check the lubrication as these are fairly old and grease that has become glue can increase the current and slow the loco.

The decoder tweaks need the old Marklin programmer if you run it on DCC as it is programmed with registries not pots or CV's if I remember correctly.

But I suspect if you try it on AC the speed will not be controlled by the loco and so you can check if it runs at full pelt when on digits or has been set for a realistic if boring top speed. 55Kph?

They are lovely loco's though and will pull just about anything.

If they are properly lubricated they do not take many amps like a G Scale American loco would.

Graham

Offline Purellum  
#6 Posted : 17 August 2019 08:43:20(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,069
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse
Cool

I have one too; but don't really remember the internals or decoder very well, except for the
two motors being quite small compared to e.g. the motor in a V100.

As it is now, the two motors run quite different in speed, I haven't solved that problem yet.

I've bought on Ebay a MFX-decoder for a E18 32, which I've planned to install into this loco,
even though purists might find the sound to be wrong - even though none of them
most likely haven't heard any of these locos in real life.

Regarding speeding the loco up: I wouldn't do it, you might damage the motors.

Per.

Cool



If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.352 seconds.