Joined: 07/04/2019(UTC) Posts: 11 Location: Antwerp
|
Hello,
I am busy writing my own control software for my marklin track.
therefore i read in the lokomotive.cs2 ( from the central station)file, since there are all my current locs.
I only use the items that i find usefull for me, such as the name, address, decoder type, and for each loc also the functions.
however, when i read in the functions, i have a number, so far so good, but also a typ this should be corresponding a functionicon/ functiondescription. for instance cab light, or typhoon ...
does someone know where to find the corresponding descriptions, since the lokomotive.cs2 file describes them for instance as typ=48 ...what is 48???
I hope someone does know these types and where to find descend documentation... I found already some documentation about the protocoll, but this is not always correct.
Kind regards
marklin guy from belgium
|
|
|
|
Joined: 12/12/2005(UTC) Posts: 2,448 Location: Wellington, New_Zealand
|
Originally Posted by: Defke  ... does someone know where to find the corresponding descriptions, since the lokomotive.cs2 file describes them for instance as typ=48 ...what is 48?? The "typ=48" directly correlates with the fcticon suffix found under xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/config/fcticons/48 is Cab Light with a set (of 4) icons /fcticons/FktIcon_a_ge_48.png /fcticons/FktIcon_i_we_48.png /fcticons/FktIcon_a_we_48.png /fcticons/FktIcon_i_gr_48.png a= active, i= inactive ge = yellow, we = white, gr = grey For the description I built a library using the manuals terms. A more comprensive list is found within the screens of the CS3 by looking for the icon |
Peter
|
|
|
|
Joined: 07/04/2019(UTC) Posts: 11 Location: Antwerp
|
Hello Clacott,
thanks for the reply, however, i see some value
.funktionen ..nr=10 ..typ=236
but the icons they stop at 176 ...
So i can find many off them, however this one i really dont have a clue, it is a marklin loc that has the 236 value. ( i can always look into the manual from that loc?)
it is quite an adventure to breack down the logic, but it is comming together, step by step, i can read all the locs, start and stop system, make loc move, do emergency stop, i know what functions, but still lots to do...
kind regards and open for suggestions
|
|
|
|
Joined: 12/12/2005(UTC) Posts: 2,448 Location: Wellington, New_Zealand
|
Originally Posted by: Defke  but the icons they stop at 176 ... Unfortunately Marklin have confused the issue by using the address space for icons that only appear on the CabMode screens These are in the address range of 150 to 176 The proper icons you are interested in are in the range 0-112 (currently) The issue you have come across is another "work around" ( I use the term politely) where by the high order bit (mask against decimal 128) appears to reflect that the function has been set up for pulse (momentary) rather than switch mode. So 236 AND (x7F dec127) = 236 - 128 = 108 |
Peter
|
 1 user liked this useful post by clapcott
|
|
|
Joined: 07/04/2019(UTC) Posts: 11 Location: Antwerp
|
Hello Clapcott,
thanks for the tip it worked, i had to tweak a little, since there is also a gap between 112 and 150. 1 train of me had a type 133 -> huhm...
so i did a 133 -128 = 5 and it is the speaker icon that it displays ont the cs21, so for now, all my function keys work, and have the correct icon.
thx Koen
|
 1 user liked this useful post by Defke
|
|
|
Joined: 07/04/2019(UTC) Posts: 11 Location: Antwerp
|
Hello Clapcott,
I do have another question for you.
Do you have/ or know where i can find the descriptions of those functions.
Right now my buttons are dynamically generated in my program, and i go get the resulting pictures from the .png files.
I wanted to add some tooltips where i wanted to display the name of the function, for instance if you would go over the button f0 ( front light) i want to show a tooltip front light.
It is perhaps a feature, but it seems usefull, right now i only see f[number] in my tooltip.
kind regards
|
|
|
|
Joined: 12/12/2005(UTC) Posts: 2,448 Location: Wellington, New_Zealand
|
Originally Posted by: Defke  Do you have/ or know where i can find the descriptions of those functions. No, I have not found a nice file for this. This does mean it does not exist. As stated above I had build my own library, initially from the function list in the CS2 manual. The CS3 actually has improved its english and gramma for icon meaning, but only on the screen. |
Peter
|
|
|
|
Joined: 07/04/2019(UTC) Posts: 11 Location: Antwerp
|
Hey Clapcott,
I presume that you cannot downlod the icons from the cs3 anymore ?
I found out that there are icons on the cs3 that are not present in cs2
kind regards
Koen
|
|
|
|
Joined: 12/12/2005(UTC) Posts: 2,448 Location: Wellington, New_Zealand
|
Originally Posted by: Defke  I presume that you cannot download the icons from the cs3 anymore ?
I found out that there are icons on the cs3 that are not present in cs2 The CS3 provides "barren" legacy support for those who have dabbled with the CS2 and PC support. The Fcticons are there, but you have to call them specifically e.g. http://192.168.1.53/fcticons/FktIcon_a_we_101.png. The CS3 will not offer a formatted view of all items if you just point to the directory. I concur with your observation that the newer CS3 icons are not offered in this same manner Interestingly, the two recent icons added to the cabmode set of icons in the CS2 (#175 & #176) are NOT available in the CS3 p.s. by barren, I refer to files like ../config/fahrstrassen.cs2 which exist, but the content is rubbish. If someone has the "more appropriate" CS3 access method for these resources, I would be (slightly) interested to know. Although my enthusiasm for the CS3 is still on the decline. |
Peter
|
|
|
|
Joined: 07/04/2019(UTC) Posts: 11 Location: Antwerp
|
hello Clapcott,
thanks for the reply, i wrote a program to retrieve those icons, however, these icons are still not the same as on dipslay.
for instance, there is in light section a light called 'console light' , but i don't find that icon, it is very frustrating...
If we could get ssh connection to the cs, we would find everything out there ... but even ssh is locked with a password
kind regards
Koen
|
|
|
|
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC) Posts: 8,467 Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
|
You might find the easiest way to get at what you want is to mount the upgrade file on a Linux system and then explore the files you want to look at. Even a Raspberry Pi should be able to do it.
|
 1 user liked this useful post by kiwiAlan
|
|
|
Joined: 01/12/2010(UTC) Posts: 10 Location: Johannesburg
|
Originally Posted by: Defke  Hello,
I am busy writing my own control software for my marklin track.
therefore i read in the lokomotive.cs2 ( from the central station)file, since there are all my current locs.
I only use the items that i find usefull for me, such as the name, address, decoder type, and for each loc also the functions.
however, when i read in the functions, i have a number, so far so good, but also a typ this should be corresponding a functionicon/ functiondescription. for instance cab light, or typhoon ...
does someone know where to find the corresponding descriptions, since the lokomotive.cs2 file describes them for instance as typ=48 ...what is 48???
I hope someone does know these types and where to find descend documentation... I found already some documentation about the protocoll, but this is not always correct.
Kind regards
marklin guy from belgium Hello from South Africa, A bit late into the party... also busy writing my own control software mainly for automatic operations. Am struggling to access config files, lokomotive.cs2 is supposed to be in /home/cs2/lokomotive.cs2 but can't access. Please describe how you did it. Thanks in advance
|
|
|
|
Joined: 26/02/2021(UTC) Posts: 1 Location: Ekeren, Antwerp
|
Originally Posted by: Fabrice  Originally Posted by: Defke  Hello,
I am busy writing my own control software for my marklin track.
therefore i read in the lokomotive.cs2 ( from the central station)file, since there are all my current locs.
I only use the items that i find usefull for me, such as the name, address, decoder type, and for each loc also the functions.
however, when i read in the functions, i have a number, so far so good, but also a typ this should be corresponding a functionicon/ functiondescription. for instance cab light, or typhoon ...
does someone know where to find the corresponding descriptions, since the lokomotive.cs2 file describes them for instance as typ=48 ...what is 48???
I hope someone does know these types and where to find descend documentation... I found already some documentation about the protocoll, but this is not always correct.
Kind regards
marklin guy from belgium Hello from South Africa, A bit late into the party... also busy writing my own control software mainly for automatic operations. Am struggling to access config files, lokomotive.cs2 is supposed to be in /home/cs2/lokomotive.cs2 but can't access. Please describe how you did it. Thanks in advance Just started doing development for my locomotion controller https://www.digitalplayground.be/?page_id=5171you need to point your browser to the IP of your CS3, and you need the following links: http://192.168.123.44/config/lokomotive.cs2http://192.168.123.44/config/magnetartikel.cs2http://192.168.123.44/config/fahrstrasse.cs2http://192.168.123.44/config/gleisbild.cs2(replace 192.168.123.44 by the IP of your CS3) If you need images or icons, you don't need to download it from your CS3, because this is time-consuming. Just download the latest firmware, and unzip it. It's a BTRFS file, that is mountable in linux. (first do: sudo apt-get install btrfs ) next, create a folder in /mnt and name it CS3 next, just "mount /location_and_name_of_BTRFS /mnt/CS3 You will then have all files from the update, in this folder. You will find loc-images, function-icons, and icons for turnouts/signals etc ... You can even replace the image in the splash folder with your own, rebuild the BTRFS and ZIP file, and flash it to your CS3, a custom splashscreen at boot, is the result :-) Happy programming from Belgium, Kris
|
 1 user liked this useful post by sn00zerman
|
|
|
Joined: 10/10/2020(UTC) Posts: 10 Location: Vlaams-Brabant, Zaventem
|
Hi I also wrote my own software and I was using an HTTP call to get functions for a given loc, for example http://192.168.1.53/fcticons/FktIcon_a_we_101.pngI recently upgraded my CS3 to v2.5.2 and these calls seem no longer supported (?) Any suggestion ? R Alain
|
|
|
|
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC) Posts: 8,467 Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
|
Originally Posted by: Drese Alain  Hi I also wrote my own software and I was using an HTTP call to get functions for a given loc, for example http://192.168.1.53/fcticons/FktIcon_a_we_101.pngI recently upgraded my CS3 to v2.5.2 and these calls seem no longer supported (?) Any suggestion ? R Alain You may need to wait and the new cs3 book 03094 that was announced in the summer new items, which covers the new software version. Another possibility would be to email marklin service department stating the upgrade has broken your software and what are the new replacement changes you need to make to achieve the same functionality.
|
|
|
|
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.