Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#1 Posted : 15 April 2017 14:46:41(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
Hi,

As some of you will know, I've been building a Z Scale layout for about 18 months now. This is my first foray into Z Scale and many of my expectations have proved ill-founded, but in general I've been pleased with what I've achieved so far.

One aspect of Z scale locomotives that has surprised and disappointed me is the poor slow speed running characteristics. Admittedly, track and wheel cleanliness is a problem and I have yet to find a really good way of ensuring good electrical continuity. My current regime of polishing with a track rubber followed by cleaning with Track Magic does seem to be comparatively effective, though.

However, even when everything is making good contact, the slow running is not particularly smooth nor particularly slow. Much to my surprise, it seems that steam locomotives run much more smoothly at slow speed that (bogie) diesels. My 88943 0-10-0 is my best runner in this respect by quite a margin. The diesels also seem to suffer impaired contact especially on corners - it seems the pickup contact resistance between the wheel and the contact and between the bogie and the loco proper tends to vary quite a lot depending upon the inclination and orientation of the bogies.

I'm really interested to hear if this experience correlates with that of other modellers. I'd be delighted to hear of any tips to improve matters, though I suspect it's more or less inevitable given the small size and low mass of everything. As someone at Zedex said to me, Z scale isn't really suitable for shunting operations (though Gareth Rees' Mini Missoula layout seemed keen to prove that wrong).

Best Wishes to all

Chris
Offline rbw993  
#2 Posted : 17 April 2017 18:08:29(UTC)