Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline DumbGuy  
#1 Posted : 10 January 2012 01:37:09(UTC)
DumbGuy

United States   
A few years ago, I tried to run a very nice #3092 analog loco (LFCM) that had been unused for years. It was inoperable because of bound gears from congealed oil. As a crass amateur, I was reluctant to try a DIY fix, so sent it out for repair. Three weeks and $60-ish later it was fine.

A while later, I had the same problem with an NIB FX digital loco (DCM) from eBay. Not wanting to spend extra cash again, I searched for a new solution. I found little guidance specific to Marklin, except for info saying oil-bound gears are a fairly common occurrence. I finally tried the simple 5-step DIY approach below which worked well.

After undoing the body shell . . . . . 1) Remove brushes & motor-shield, then remove magnet & rotor. 2) Apply a FEW drops of WD-40 to the gears with a syringe – DON’T use the spray – then wait overnight. 3) Next morning, apply a FEW drops of Naptha (lighter fluid) to rinse out the WD-40 residuals; apply the Naptha rinse once more several hours later, then wait overnight again. 4) Reassemble everything & do a very short low-power test on track. If the gears are still bound, repeat the process. 5) Once everything works, lube the motor & axles lightly with LaBelle 108 or equivalent and replace the body shell.

I’ve done this on three oil-bound DCM locos. Only one needed a second run-through, and nothing was ever electrically or cosmetically damaged. Total time = Not much . . . . a half-hour to disassemble, a half-hour to reassemble, and a couple nights of waiting in-between. A professional might be able to do it without disassembling and waiting, but I’m very far from an expert.