Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline leesauer  
#1 Posted : 21 February 2008 22:52:13(UTC)
leesauer

United States   
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Marklin, but having a fine time. I know that US DC locs can't be used on Marklin track without modification, but what about US cars? If they don't have any electrical functionality, can they be run without problems behind Marklin locs? (I presume I'll have to replace the couplers, but do I need to do anything else?)

Thanks,

Lee Sauer
Sacramento, CA
Lee Sauer
Sacramento, CA
Offline Katchina  
#2 Posted : 21 February 2008 23:01:32(UTC)
Katchina

Apparently you'll also need to replace wheels most of the time. I don't really understand why since we're going from 2 rails to 3 rails (the other way might cause problems if you short the two rails with full metal cars).

I suppose it's a matter of wheels exact shape and dimension...

Also I believe some cars and coaches are not designed to be operated on the smaller radius curves that many M* users have (cue in the long-lasting flame war regarding toy trains, real-scale modelling, etc, etc, etc).
Offline dntower85  
#3 Posted : 21 February 2008 23:34:45(UTC)
dntower85

United States   
I have had luck with some DC wheels on marklin track if they can slide on the axel, I have pressed them in to match the width of marklin AC wheels. The DC wheels are spaced too wide to go through a turn out and typically force the frog off the main rail. with a little tweeking they work but most cars US cars don't like R1 curves. Also you lose the capability it activate contact tracks.
DT
Now powered by ECoS II unit#2, RocRail
era - some time in the future when the space time continuum is disrupted and ICE 3 Trains run on the same rails as the Adler and BR18's.
Offline hmsfix  
#4 Posted : 22 February 2008 00:05:33(UTC)
hmsfix

Hi,