Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline nitevision92  
#1 Posted : 08 August 2011 21:17:40(UTC)
nitevision92

Hi all,
I'm a student living in Germany for the time being.
I used to build aircraft models, but just got bitten by the MRR bug and have been reading on the topic for some time now. However, not all is good as I find this to be quite confusing. Plenty of questions ahead!

If I've read correctly, Marklin trains run by having a metal shoe contact a series of raised "dots" in the middle of the track... So what then, is the "feeder track"? And what is the difference between C track and K track? Also, what is the difference between a digital and analog system? Are the trains compatible with either one (Like an older non-digital train on a digital system)?

I've visited the hobby shops in my area and have taken a liking to Era V/VI electric/diesel trains. Is it feasible for a beginner to build a set from scratch, as opposed to buying the starter sets?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Offline hennabm  
#2 Posted : 08 August 2011 21:29:31(UTC)
hennabm

Scotland   
Hi
welcome to the forum ThumpUp ThumpUp

To answer some of your questions.
1/ the feeder track intorduces the current to the live dots in the middle and also carries the eart from the rails.

2/ C track is the new raised track and has built in ballast. It replaced the M track which was made of metal.
The K track is more "traditional" with only the rails and sleepers.
Both are served by raised dots acting as the 3rd rail and the power source for the engines and coach lighting etc.

3/ Analogue control is by transformer and will control sections of isolated track or complete circuits. Normally only one engine per circuit/section is controlled by one transformer.